Alternatives to the 11-Speed SRAM 10-42T Cassette

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Alternatives to the 11-Speed SRAM 10-42T Cassette
  • Previous Page
O+
Posted: Oct 12, 2020 at 9:30 Quote
I submitted this question to the mechanics lounge, and dont know how to delete here. Sorry im new.

I want to replace my 11-Speed SRAM XG 1150 cassette 10-42T.

No clue, but have ruined 2 of those. Ready to move on to something more durable. Maybe not so drilled out sitting on those easily bendable pins.

I saw that Sunrace makes a steel cassette, but they don’t indicate if it will fit on XD Drivers. I’m new to this, so not sure if it is assumed that it always is an XD.

Any help or just a simple link of what to buy would be a god send at this point. Totally confused and frustrated.

Lastly.......does the replacement HAVE to be the same 10-42 spread? Or can it be say 11-42T and still work?

Thanks so much.

Posted: Oct 12, 2020 at 9:49 Quote
Something to consider is the 1150 up to 1195/99 are among if not (I believe) the lightest cassettes ever made for that given range, hence durability compromise.

If you currently have an 1150, you have an XD driver so you need an XD replacement cassette unless you buy an HG driver for your hub (if your hub has an HG option) to allow using the Sunrace.

Your cassette and derailleur, for the purpose of your last question, are separate. You can usually mate a cassette of x brand to a cassette of y brand as long as the number of gears is the same. The size of cassette a derailleur can accept is what's important, which is called "chain wrap capacity" or "tooth capacity". For 1x calculating capacity is easy: subtract your smallest tooth from the largest tooth. Without knowing, I assume you've got a Sram 11sp derailleur, either X01 or XX1, which has (expectedly) a capacity of 32 teeth.

So 11-42t (cap of 31) will work great, but going outside a max 32t range can get iffy, especially on a squisher.

O+