Why so many brand new used bikes for sale?

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Why so many brand new used bikes for sale?
  • Previous Page
Posted: Oct 21, 2020 at 22:47 Quote
So I'm new to most of this cultural MTB thing, I bought my first higher end bike last year for 700$ not knowing it needed everything replaced and I'm now into it for about 4700$ but it's now custom built with all the newest "top of the line" gear and tuned by yours truely (I'm a certified mechanic by nature, so it comes easy)

What I can't get is, why, why are there sooooo many nearly brand new bikes for sale on here for retail prices, are they ex rental bikes or does every spoiled mtber out there just use their bikes for 6-10 months then flip them to get another new one, in the car world we call those curbers and you stay far away from them. So what gives?

Do y'all just not like what your buying enough to keep it? Is it the fact the service turn around is so piss poor and y'all can't fix your own bikes you just get ride of them before it's time for any service??

Someone please enlighten me, coz I shop all the time on here for more bikes to buy and build, mainly coz I like to wrench and tinker and have a sickness with buying and collecting things like motorcycles, cars, and now apperently mountian bikes, but I never sell them, I keep I collect.

Cheers

Posted: Oct 22, 2020 at 0:59 Quote
There are a few things going on...

1. If you can flip your bike after a season, you dont have to burden the cost of any repairs or service. and there are plenty of people who will buy it not realizing what kind of dumpster fire they may be walking into.

2. If you get any kind of pro deal or sponsorship, you can do this an possibly make money

3. Bikes have been hard to come by this season, so used bikes have been selling at an exaggerated premium