Fork/Shock upgrade

PB Forum :: Bikes, Parts, and Gear
Fork/Shock upgrade
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Oct 23, 2020 at 3:10 Quote
Hi folks !

Brace yourselves for stupid questions...

Got a new bike this year (https://99spokes.com/bikes/commencal/2019/meta-am-27-origin). When i bought it for some dumb reason i opted for that spec, even though i had enough for the one that had Fox installed.

This summer i started riding my local trails, after the first run i went back home and slapped a pair of Zee brakes, since what i had just didn't cut it. At some point the feeling i had down the trails was like "the brakes are working but i feel that i won't stop when i want to stop", and it got scary fast....now everything is fine, and i got more confidence riding down.

But...i got this itch.

Should i spend some cash to replace the fork and rear shock with a Fox 36/38 and a dpx 2? Not sure how much of a confidence boost i'll get from this Blank Stare

Or just ride what i have stock until it breaks or i get a new bike?

Thanks in advance

Posted: Oct 25, 2020 at 18:32 Quote
plasticjesus wrote:
Hi folks !

Brace yourselves for stupid questions...

Got a new bike this year (https://99spokes.com/bikes/commencal/2019/meta-am-27-origin). When i bought it for some dumb reason i opted for that spec, even though i had enough for the one that had Fox installed.

This summer i started riding my local trails, after the first run i went back home and slapped a pair of Zee brakes, since what i had just didn't cut it. At some point the feeling i had down the trails was like "the brakes are working but i feel that i won't stop when i want to stop", and it got scary fast....now everything is fine, and i got more confidence riding down.

But...i got this itch.

Should i spend some cash to replace the fork and rear shock with a Fox 36/38 and a dpx 2? Not sure how much of a confidence boost i'll get from this Blank Stare