Reasons to not go to AXS

O+
Posted: Dec 1, 2020 at 20:52 Quote
Im currently using xo1 11 speed, and I'm thinking of getting axs, partly so i can use a bigger chainring and go faster, but i also like the idea of the overload clutch as when i had gx eagle before, i went through 3 derailleurs in a year.

Seems like this thread is mostly arguing but i thought id ask and see if anyone who actually has axs has broken a derailleur, and what it took to do it

Posted: Dec 1, 2020 at 21:26 Quote
I’ve been riding AXS XX1 for several months and have had a few significant crashes. The AXS has held up like a champ, and has had absolutely no issue. Better then my fractured tibia and torn PCL for sure. (Oops)

Posted: Dec 1, 2020 at 23:51 Quote
newbermuda wrote:
Im currently using xo1 11 speed, and I'm thinking of getting axs, partly so i can use a bigger chainring and go faster, but i also like the idea of the overload clutch as when i had gx eagle before, i went through 3 derailleurs in a year.

Seems like this thread is mostly arguing but i thought id ask and see if anyone who actually has axs has broken a derailleur, and what it took to do it

My friend literally smashed his into a rock. It whipped around and almost contacted the seatstay, then sprang back down into place.

Posted: Dec 2, 2020 at 0:31 Quote
mine has a few big scrapes and scratches on it, but has worked perfectly throughout.

In the latest field test video, on the Acto5, Levy hits his mech super hard, rips the hanger off, but the mech survives.

Posted: Dec 2, 2020 at 4:45 Quote
newbermuda wrote:

I've been going over a year on mine, a few falls including one direct smash on some sharp rocks. No problems, just some scratches.

Posted: Dec 2, 2020 at 4:56 Quote
newbermuda wrote:

Thankyou

Posted: Dec 2, 2020 at 8:26 Quote
newbermuda wrote:

What makes you think axs is stronger than a gx or a xo1?
As far I'm concerned, no one justified how it is better than a xo1 eagle let alone how it will take a hit.