What bike for tall guy?

• Previous Page
Posted: Jan 22, 2021 at 6:06 Quote
I'm considering buying my first full suspension bike, but having trouble figuring out what fits and not. As this is my first bike, I'm looking at lower end bikes. The bikes I'm considering are Ibis Ripley AF, Vitus Escarpe 29 CR, Orbea Occam H30/H20 and YT Jeffsy Base 29, with the Ibis leading at the moment. This is not really a "what bike is best" thread, but more a question of what fits me. I'm a tall guy at 198cm/6'6", with inside leg 97cm/38" and 204cm/80" armspan. This puts me more or less at the top edge of what the manufacturers recommend for the bikes in XL/XXL.

As a beginner, I'm not able to tell what the difference in the geometry numbers mean in real life, so I'm asking you. Will any/all of these bikes fit me? If not, will it be enough to use spacers / swap out the stem for extra reach?

Thanks!

Posted: Jan 22, 2021 at 6:30 Quote
guleboj wrote:
I'm considering buying my first full suspension bike, but having trouble figuring out what fits and not. As this is my first bike, I'm looking at lower end bikes. The bikes I'm considering are Ibis Ripley AF, Vitus Escarpe 29 CR, Orbea Occam H30/H20 and YT Jeffsy Base 29, with the Ibis leading at the moment. This is not really a "what bike is best" thread, but more a question of what fits me. I'm a tall guy at 198cm/6'6", with inside leg 97cm/38" and 204cm/80" armspan. This puts me more or less at the top edge of what the manufacturers recommend for the bikes in XL/XXL.

As a beginner, I'm not able to tell what the difference in the geometry numbers mean in real life, so I'm asking you. Will any/all of these bikes fit me? If not, will it be enough to use spacers / swap out the stem for extra reach?

Thanks!

There may be a few that fit you, but to be sure just buy a Geometron / Nicolai G1

Posted: Jan 22, 2021 at 7:00 Quote
Danzzz88 wrote:
guleboj wrote:

Thanks!