Can you use a fat bike for trail riding?

PB Forum :: Fat Bikes
Can you use a fat bike for trail riding?
| Next Page
Posted: Mar 2, 2021 at 21:03 Quote
Not yet, but I am looking for it.

Posted: Mar 12, 2021 at 9:02 Quote
GrahamSW wrote:
Most definitely. I have been riding my fatty for 2 years year round and loving it. Mine weighs 32lbs custom steel frame, 26x4.0 jumbo jims(I dont like how 27.5 wheels feel), Mastodon pro fork. The bike is awesome.
I have been tossing around the idea of getting a second wheelset in 29x2.3 for more jumping stuff. So far the fat tires do everything fine.
Another person to check out is Blake Samson on GMBN. He pushes fat bikes to the limits.

Same, going with a 29+ extra wheelset this summer. Give yourself the option to switch back and forth depending on mood

Posted: Mar 12, 2021 at 9:05 Quote
RKingan wrote:
I can and do sometimes to keep things interesting. It is fun, but you can find the limits of what you want to do on big squishy tires with weak brakes pretty fast if you push hard on rough terrain. I don't imagine fat tires would work well for jumps, but I like them in slower Rocky tech. Feels like driving a bus downhill, but in a good way.

For moderate trails or shit you ride all the time they can be a blast. Tire presure is key, for me the difference between basket ball like bounce and rim banging squishy is not as many psi as you might think.

There are some awesome videos of a guy fat biking Whistler on youtube.

Grabbing a digital air pressure gauge is a game changer for fats. 7.5 psi compared to 5.5 psi is night and day. A dialed in tier pressure is muy beuno

Posted: Mar 12, 2021 at 9:52 Quote
ducklord wrote:
I was wondering if fat bikes are good for trail riding, jumps, an tech features. What would I need to do this on a fat bike?

just because you can doesnt mean you should.

Yes, you can; but I would rather chose a different type of bike according to the kind of trails you ride/you have in your area.