Complete newbie. Send help!

PB Forum :: Girl's Clubhouse
Complete newbie. Send help!
Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Mar 15, 2021 at 6:38 Quote
Hi ladies, Im Eve. I'm completely new ???? I have my bike, after a bit of reading up on a few blogs etc I blindly went for a vitus nucleus vrw (I keep forgetting what it is so have to check!) I'm hoping this is a good starter option? I should of joined a forum before I bought one maybe! But I felt reviews were good and it was within my budget. ???????? Plus I dreamed about it last night so should mean it's the one for me!!!

I've yet to go out yet, I'm heading to Cumbria (I'm in the UK) climbing in April and have a few trails in mind for bike days, I've no helmet yet and presume I'll need some decent pedals instead of the ones they send with the bike... where on earth do I start with this! Please someone send me in the right direction. Thank you. Eve x

Also any beginner advice, you know, stuff you wish you'd known starting out will be very gratefully welcomed x

Posted: Mar 15, 2021 at 7:10 Quote
Nucleus is a great value bike. It'll be great for starting out on, good choice.
As far as helmets, don't go for a ride until you have one. Since you're in the uk check out chainreactioncycles.com (I'm guessing you got your bike from either here or Wiggle.com anyway), they've got a good selection. Ideally find one with mips for better protection. Since you're just starting out, a half-shell helmet should be fine (as opposed to a full-face). As you progress and start riding gnarly stuff get a full face.
Pedals, you're probably better off starting on flat pedals. Nukeproof Neutron are pretty cheap and good. I'd also recommend Oneup composites, DMR v12, crankbrothers stamp etc. Things to look for on a pedal are metal pins. Either metal or composite body is fine.
Enjoy your new bike!

Posted: Mar 22, 2021 at 10:06 Quote