Vintage MTB to gravel/adventure bike

PB Forum :: Vintage and Fixed Gear Bikes
Vintage MTB to gravel/adventure bike
FL
Posted: Jul 12, 2022 at 13:30 Quote
Quick question about bars, I’ve never built a gravel bike before…When I’m looking for brake levers for drop bars are there different sizes or are they all the same diameter clamp to fit the bull horn part?

Posted: Jul 12, 2022 at 13:53 Quote
I've never thought twice about lever clamp ID vs. drop-bar drop diam OD when considering lever and bar combos and I've mish-mashed a wide variety of vintage/new-ish/new combos trying to configure a cockpit. They've all worked together. .

I'm thinking the diam of the drop part is pretty standard. I'm sure someone with moar 'sperience can confirm/correct that.

FL
Posted: Jul 14, 2022 at 11:21 Quote
I wasn’t sure it would/should be an issue anyway but I only asked as when I was adding stuff to my basket on chainreaction it had options for sizes which has totally confused me.

O+
Posted: Jul 14, 2022 at 13:43 Quote
Unless your bars are something weird like the Soma Gator which is made for mtb controls, they should all be the same size.

O+
Posted: Jul 14, 2022 at 13:48 Quote
McArdle wrote:
93EXCivic wrote:
McArdle wrote:
For my gravel build I’m using DMR moto digger tyres, they roll surprisingly well on road as well as being super grippy for off the beaten track. 26” x2.1, not too wide but just enough.

I used those in 2.35 on my 26in gravel build.

Pics of the build?

photo

O+
Posted: Aug 9, 2022 at 15:18 Quote
Hey everyone. I'm new to vintage/ retro bikes. Was recently given a 88' Shogun Trail Breaker in really great shape. Was looking to convert it to a bikepacking/ gravel rig. Any tips would be appreciated.

FL
Posted: Aug 10, 2022 at 14:45 Quote
93EXCivic wrote:
McArdle wrote:
93EXCivic wrote:

I used those in 2.35 on my 26in gravel build.

Pics of the build?

photo

Nice!

Posted: Sep 28, 2022 at 14:27 Quote
810Homan wrote: