Finally time to upgrade from a hard tail, which bike to get?

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Finally time to upgrade from a hard tail, which bike to get?
Previous Page | Next Page
Posted: Nov 22, 2021 at 15:36 Quote
This discussion probably happens more frequently than any other, but I'm sure the answer is always different depending on the location of the rider and style of riding, etc.

I started riding an NS Bikes Eccentric Alu Evo hardtail in March of this year. It's got 27.5+ wheels, 4 piston TRP Slate brakes, and GX Drive Train. It's got a 120mm RockShox fork that I bottom out fairly often with my style of riding. This fork wasn't made for this bike or the type of riding I'm doing with it. The frame is also a size M and I'm 6' tall, so I put a 60mm riser on it to make it fit, sort of.

I live in the St.Louis, MO area, and while most of the area around me is flat, I drive a bit to get to more steeper, technical terrain when I ride. I haven't had any issues going off of the biggest drops in the area, or over 20+ft gap jumps, but it feels like my bike is at the limit of what it can do. I'm not big on pedaling XC, so I'm not going out to pedal 20 mile days on flat ground, but I will pedal to the top of descents as that's needed in my area, so that's quite a bit of what I do. There's one shuttle park within an hour and a half, and they race BME there. I'd like to try that and ride there more often with something more capable. I very much enjoy going fast down technical terrain as well as riding flow track and sending big jumps and drops, and this is the majority of the riding I'm doing. I'm 27 and like to act stupid and do stupid things on the bike. If there's something on the trail, I'm going for it. However, I do want to test the waters in the near future and try an enduro race or two, to determine if it's something I'd like to really get into.