Thinking of going 32t round to 28t oval chainring…

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Thinking of going 32t round to 28t oval chainring…
  • Previous Page
Posted: Jan 11, 2022 at 10:56 Quote
Any feedback going with this set up?
Running 1X12 on Stumpjumper, I do a lot of tech climbing in rock gardens if that helps with my posting, thanks!!!

Posted: Jan 11, 2022 at 11:34 Quote
Big fan of oval rings, run pine for years, and just put a 30t oval on my stumpy evo alloy (not ridden it yet). Only comment would be to look hk at the change to a smaller size could effect anti squat

Posted: Jan 11, 2022 at 12:52 Quote
I’ve been running an Absolute Black oval on my bikes for 3 years, same for my buddies. We all run 30t on the following bikes, 2020 Rascal, 2021 Rascal, 2019 Stumpy expert, and 2021 Wreckoning. We ride a bit of everything terrain wise, and the 30t has been perfect. A 28t for me would definitely be a bit small.
Hope this helps!

Posted: Jan 11, 2022 at 13:23 Quote
Yep, I agree thst 30 is good. A 30 will perform like a 28 when you need it and a 32 when you don't as much. Been very pleased with it. Running a Wolf Tooth.

O+
Posted: Jan 11, 2022 at 13:31 Quote
I'll be the first one here, to deny the oval chainring works, I have a 32t oval, and it feels like a 34t climbing, luckily I have 52t to help.

Posted: Jan 11, 2022 at 16:09 Quote
As some have stated the 28T may be a bit small.
I recently switched to an Absolute Black oval and can't really tell the difference. I like it and there's a small part of me that thinks "I believe this climb is a bit easier now", but it wasn't same big night-vs-day difference going from round to oval. I believe in the technology and the philosophy, but I would switch back without any real heart ache.

Posted: Jan 11, 2022 at 17:54 Quote