E-Bike Suspensions Myths

PB Forum :: eMTB
E-Bike Suspensions Myths
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Jun 1, 2022 at 13:44 Quote
I've ordered a Giant Reign E+1 2022 and it comes with Fox 38 elite forks and a Fox X2 elite rear shock. I've been trying to workout where these items differ compared to non e-bike Fox suspension and the only thing I can come up with the tuning.

I have a set of Factory Fox 38's and a factory X2 both the same size/type on another bike and would like to install them on the reign but I'm not 100% positive that it should be done (should being the operative word here as it certainly COULD be done).

If you go to the Fox website and choose the E-38 it takes you straight to the 'standard' 38 page and after searching the internet high and low, again all I can come up with is the difference in tuning. Same with the X2.

Now, I'm new to the e-bike life so I'll await to be corrected here... I know an e-bike weighs considerably more than a non e-bike but surely there's no difference between a 85KG person and a 90-95KG person riding the same bike, you just optimise the suspension setup by settings and tunes anyway.

So what I'm saying is, the bike industry skeptic in me is saying it should be fine, maybe just alter the settings and away we go, but if anyone can educate me that would be excellent!

Posted: Jun 1, 2022 at 15:16 Quote
Yeah, i'd like someone to back me up, but im 99% sure its just a different shock tune

Posted: Jun 2, 2022 at 9:22 Quote
Rockshox use identical components with the Zeb being the only exception. The pressure charts recommend that you add 10psi to the base settings on ebikes. The Zeb is available with adjustable travel and is a bigger diameter straight steerer for ebikes.

I would be shocked if there are any differences in the Fox 38, but the shock might have a different tune.

Posted: Jun 2, 2022 at 11:57 Quote