Galfer MT5/7 Pad Issues

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Galfer MT5/7 Pad Issues
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
O+
Posted: Apr 26, 2023 at 8:23 Quote
I am mostly looking for a sanity check here. I have been running Magura MT7’s for several years, about a year ago I started using Galfer pads as they were easier to find and work as good or better than the Magura 8p pads.

I received 2 new sets of pads this week and the brake compound seems abnormally thick. With the pistons fully retracted into the caliper, I could not even get the caliper back on the rotor.

Measuring the pad thickness, they vary between 4.0 and 4.2mm thick, each. I run Magura rotors at 2.0mm thickness so we are needing at least 10mm+ of clearance between the brake pistons. This does not account for the room needed for the pistons to retract after being squeezed.
A Magura bleed block measures only 9.9mm thick, so already It seems there is not enough room for these pads to be installed and work correctly.
Measuring a Magura 8p pad thickness, they are only about 3.5mm thick so I think my only option is to sand these pads down to 3.5mm.

Is there anything I am missing here? Galfer customer support confirmed the pads are the right thickness and should have room to be installed, but their math is not matching up with mine.

Posted: Apr 26, 2023 at 8:49 Quote
I've seen chatter on this subject before - rare, but is not unknown.
1) double check that pistons are completely flush w/caliper body. You said they were, but worth a look.
2) measure the backing plate thickness between old and new sets of brakes - possibly a different plate dimension causing the issue.
3) file or sand down the offending component - backing plate or pad.

Good luck.

O+
Posted: Apr 26, 2023 at 9:38 Quote
Branmuffin wrote: