The Whistler Thread

PB Forum :: Canada - West
The Whistler Thread
Posted: Sep 25, 2017 at 14:28 Quote
nickel wrote:
ThunderChunk wrote:

I'm a heavy equipment operator. I do this for a living lol. I used to run a grader at a landfill smoothing out roads all day and currently I build roads several kms long for rock truck haul roads. They don't need to add material Every time. Just a light pass to get rid of debris and smooth out bumps. Wouldn't take too much time.

Good for you. Expressway is full of cross ditches that winter ops will get very upset about if you fill them in with a grader. Also, a large proportion of it is made of blast rock so enjoy grading that without bringing in material. It's also quite steep for driving a grader. There's a truck and buggy access road right next to expressway that gets graded once a year, check it out for a sneak preview of how smooth it stays. We're not driving a grader down all of expressway for a number of reasons and your assumption that it's easy and doesn't take much time or cost much money is laughable. when we did actually do something along these lines and bring rock truck loads of dirt and grade portions of expressway and bearcub, you should have heard the operator and rock truck drivers bitching. They didn't think it was easy, I promise.

Props to all these trail builders. I get it, just like any job - people on the outside assume there must be an easier way. WBP does an amazing job. Agree an easier option to creekside would be great. Now if they could find a magic bullet to rid Blue Velvet of brake bumps!!! Thanks for all the work you do @nickel

O+
Posted: Sep 25, 2017 at 14:41 Quote
Magic bullet.. Mine is to ride trails other than blue velvet. I never find doing a top to bottom blue velvet lap that great, gotta mix it with others up there.

O+
Posted: Sep 25, 2017 at 15:36 Quote