You know you work in a bikeshop when...

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
You know you work in a bikeshop when...
Posted: Aug 26, 2021 at 12:49 Quote
trailblitz wrote:
I await the sweet release of death

Words to live by...

2022 will be even harder regarding bike stocks & sourcing parts. We are still contemplating the fact that we might as well start selling chewing gums. lol

Posted: Aug 26, 2021 at 23:12 Quote
Barkit wrote:
trailblitz wrote:

Words to live by...

2022 will be even harder regarding bike stocks & sourcing parts. We are still contemplating the fact that we might as well start selling chewing gums. lol
"Chewing gums" my brain went right to old folks missing their dentures...avatar checs out.

Posted: Aug 27, 2021 at 4:43 Quote
I actually want to start.

I keep talking myself out of going up to LBS and asking if they need some P/T help. I'm catching up on all the newer stuff after a big hiatus from cycling so it makes me a bit nervous. I'm a skilled mechanic (on everything from cars to dishwashers) and definitely confident in my ability to fix anything from a tractor to a toaster, but for some reason I'm a bit hesitant.

The only thing I have not done is build wheels, but I really want to learn. Hell...I do everything else on my bikes myself (including suspension), and have built several. I want to help people, and I f**king love bikes....

Posted: Aug 27, 2021 at 7:57 Quote
adm750 wrote:

I keep talking myself out of going up to LBS and asking if they need some P/T help. I'm catching up on all the newer stuff after a big hiatus from cycling so it makes me a bit nervous. I'm a skilled mechanic (on everything from cars to dishwashers) and definitely confident in my ability to fix anything from a tractor to a toaster, but for some reason I'm a bit hesitant.