All mountain vs. Freeride bike?

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
All mountain vs. Freeride bike?
  • Previous Page
Posted: Oct 18, 2007 at 22:04 Quote
Im just getting into biking again from a couple year freeze. Im not sure whether to get a all mountain for freestyle. Im not sure how much an AM bike will handle..assuming it has 6in of travel. Im not sure how big of drops/jumps 6in will handle. I dont plan on doing anything too big, probably nothing more than around 5ft drops. Can anyone help me?

Posted: Oct 18, 2007 at 22:07 Quote
try a norco six its super tough and im pretty sure itl handle 5 footers noproblem

Posted: Oct 19, 2007 at 3:47 Quote
A Giant Reign sounds like a good bike for you, 6 inches of travel, could definitely handle a 5 foot drop. Are you going to be doing much trail riding with climbs?

Posted: Oct 19, 2007 at 11:46 Quote
I am going to be doing some climbs and trailriding, thats my delema, cause a freeride bike im sure would be way to heavy for that. I looked at the reigns, their nice...but a little out of my price range.

Posted: Oct 19, 2007 at 11:56 Quote
2 bikes to check out:
Brodie Zealot
Brodie Dissident

Posted: Oct 19, 2007 at 12:47 Quote
What is your price range? If I'm not mistaken if the low end Reign is out of your price range then it's about time to look at the Buy and Sell section.

Reign's usually an easy bike to find used same with the Norco Six. I owned a Six and thought it was an excellent bike. If you can find one of the lighter Six's then I'de say go for that, they're built to handle the toughest of Whistler while still being just as pleasant to ride up the hills.

Posted: Oct 19, 2007 at 12:57 Quote
check out the Mongoose Khyber Elite, spec'd pretty good for $1900. I think this would be the best of both worlds and the price really isn't that bad. the suspension design is pretty sweet too, no brake jack, and it really doesn't bob when you pedal out of the saddle.