Broken Collar Bone Recovery Time

PB Forum :: Fitness, Training and Health
Broken Collar Bone Recovery Time
Posted: Oct 16, 2016 at 21:44 Quote
I broke mine on Oct. 5, 2016 hitting a rut on the side of the trail. Orthopedic surgeon said we'll let it heal by itself and see me in 2 weeks. I'm doubtful and thinking surgery and plate needed.

photo

3 months later healing by itself. No pain and full arm and shoulder movement. Doctor was right.

photo

O+
Posted: Oct 17, 2016 at 6:49 Quote
[Quote="Richard8655"]I broke mine 11 days ago hitting a rut on the side of the trail. Ortho doctor advised let it heal by itself and see me in 2 weeks. I'm doubtful and thinking surgery needed.

Thats what mine looked like. It's not shattered. I was sceptical too. I was out of my sling in 7 days and doing full range of motion. I am no doctor but it helped. Do wall walks with your fingers and keep it moving. I healed up well and was riding two months later.

Good luck

Posted: Oct 17, 2016 at 11:27 Quote
joshua22 wrote:
Thats what mine looked like. It's not shattered. I was sceptical too. I was out of my sling in 7 days and doing full range of motion. I am no doctor but it helped. Do wall walks with your fingers and keep it moving. I healed up well and was riding two months later.

Good luck

Thanks Joshua. Sounds like you didn't need surgery after a similar break like mine. Glad to hear you recovered well, and gave me some hope! Damn painful.

Posted: Nov 14, 2016 at 2:39 Quote
Broke my collarbone, 4 ribs and punctured lung in high speed road bike crash ( not my fault ).. Had 3 surgeons look at it and had 3 different opinions ??
So glad I had it plated and screwed, think it would of been a disaster if id left it, if its displaced get surgery is my advice.

Posted: Dec 11, 2016 at 2:40 Quote
I get to participate in this thread: Frown