PB Forum :: Beginners
upgrading my GT chucker
  • Previous Page
Posted: Oct 26, 2007 at 7:39 Quote
i'm new to dirt jumping, i got a jump bike. i want to know what to put on it
i'm open to any suggestions thanks
josh...Big Grin

Posted: Oct 26, 2007 at 7:55 Quote
lol well first of all wat does it have on it? it could be perfectly speec'd...gotta tell us these things Wink

but mainly, it shud run even single speed or only gears n the front, a short travel (80-100mm) fork, and usually you shud only run a rear break (less things to break + pulling ur front break on the landing of a jump = pain)

FL
Posted: Oct 26, 2007 at 7:59 Quote
well man, i really don't mean to be a jerk at all, however...
What i noticed as soon as i got a new frame (previously had a chucker) is that it's so much nicer! Amazing! Even if it's a cheaper kona frame, you'll find the geometry alot nicer to learn with and i bet you'll progress faster. Chuckers come with quite a low level fork so might want to grab some cheaper Dirt Jumpers or something

Ciao,
Bob

Posted: Oct 26, 2007 at 8:00 Quote
sorry, forgot about that Frown
it has rst launch 100mm travel, i have read many reviews and people have said they snapped easy, the brakes are mechanical- Lee Chi DSK-320
it has 16 gears 2 on front 8 on back, i wanna keep them cos its my everyday bike

Posted: Oct 26, 2007 at 8:02 Quote
i've ridden loads of chuckers before so am used to how it is setup and am familiar with the geometry
mynameisbob wrote:
well man, i really don't mean to be a jerk at all, however...
What i noticed as soon as i got a new frame (previously had a chucker) is that it's so much nicer! Amazing! Even if it's a cheaper kona frame, you'll find the geometry alot nicer to learn with and i bet you'll progress faster. Chuckers come with quite a low level fork so might want to grab some cheaper Dirt Jumpers or something

Ciao,
Bob

Posted: Nov 5, 2007 at 13:59 Quote