Downhill Training

Posted: Nov 27, 2007 at 16:38 Quote
norco87 wrote:
Now that the winter is coming, I have stored my bikes indoor and they probably won't come out till spring. I am hoping to start some DH next race season. I was thinking about getting an exercise bike. Anyone know some main things in looking at when buying one? I was thinking spending around $350-$450. Is that too much/too little to pay? Thanks.
Same here, first snowfall, What should I do?

Posted: Nov 27, 2007 at 16:47 Quote
James Wilson the one, the only MTB Stregnth Training Coach. He is the shit. Move to Grand Junction,CO, and take his stregnth training course two or three times a week. I've been doing it for three months. He addresses stregnth, agility, nutrition, and overall health in an amazing manner. There is nothing better than doing proper stregnth training, eating right, and staying fit to kick lots of ass on your mountain bike.

Posted: Nov 28, 2007 at 1:04 Quote
do it all, but keep it natural. Running 5km each day on the road will funk your knees up over time whereas in xc running your knees will last forever. Going to the gym everyday will eventually turn you into a meat-head whereas climbing and scrambling in the hills will feed your soul. I do as much exercise as I can but always try to make it something that my body was designed to do - like downhilling!

Posted: Nov 30, 2007 at 2:26 Quote
raak wrote:
olynch wrote:
Swimming is the best way to get fitter for dh. Do plenty of stretches too.

I'm not too sure about that. Swimming is a great way of keeping fit but even proffesional swimmers absolutely have to cross-train with weights and so-forth because water can only offer a certain amount of resistance and is limited in the strength it can build. Also it doesnt work the legs half as much as other forms of training. I think saying it's the "best" way is a bit of an exaggeration.