Noobie Help Please!

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Noobie Help Please!
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Nov 29, 2008 at 15:17 Quote
Hello, i recently took my bike into the shop, because it was making some squeaking sounds. At the bike shop, the head mechanic told me that my bike needed a new "bottom bracket", now, i have no idea what that is, and he put in a new one for me. Anyway, im just wondering that because i changed my "bottom bracket" should i also install a new top braket too? Or will my top bracket be fine? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Remember, i am a noob at biking, so please dont flame me. Thanks in advance.

Posted: Nov 29, 2008 at 15:24 Quote
Comebackid wrote:
Hello, i recently took my bike into the shop, because it was making some squeaking sounds. At the bike shop, the head mechanic told me that my bike needed a new "bottom bracket", now, i have no idea what that is, and he put in a new one for me. Anyway, im just wondering that because i changed my "bottom bracket" should i also install a new top braket too? Or will my top bracket be fine? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Remember, i am a noob at biking, so please dont flame me. Thanks in advance.
No you should be fine! I am pretty sure you don't have a top bracket to be replaced and thanks for making my day!Beer

Posted: Nov 29, 2008 at 15:24 Quote
OK well the bottom bracket is what makes the cranks spin, you can't see it, but it holds them in place and makes then turn. The cranks are the metal things that hold your pedals. You bike doesn't have a top bracket ( no bike does). The bottom bracket is just called that because it's on the bottom of your bike I guess.

Posted: Nov 29, 2008 at 15:28 Quote
whattheheel wrote:
Comebackid wrote:
No you should be fine! I am pretty sure you don't have a top bracket to be replaced and thanks for making my day!Beer

Oh, alright, thanks for all the help!! Wow, i feel extra noob now. And your welcome, for making your day, i guess....:S