GT DHi vs. Santa Cruz V-10

PB Forum :: Downhill
GT DHi vs. Santa Cruz V-10
  • Previous Page
Posted: Nov 1, 2007 at 17:29 Quote
I'm looking ahead to next year, and I plan on getting a new frame. I'm currently riding a 2007 Demo 8, but I think its time for a change (I've been riding Specialized Demo's since 2004) My two top choices at the moment are the GT DHi and the Santa Cruz V-10. The GT would be a lightly used 2007 Model, and the Santa Cruz would be the new 2008 model. I race Quebec/Canada cups, and I ride quite a bit in between. I'm lookig for a bike that pedals well, jumps easily, brakes well on rough terrain, and generally is a fun bike to ride. I've ridden a 2006 V-10 and wasn't overly impressed, but the new verision is supposed to fell more lively and ride higher in its travel (that's exactly that I didn't like about the 2006) I've only had the chance to ride the GT on a paved road, I haven't been able to take it to the mountain to give it a real shake down. I was very impressed by the way the GT Pedalled, but I wasn't able to get a very good idea of how the suspension reacts offroad. Has anyone had any extended experiece with the GT? Between these two bikes, which do you think would be a better choice?

Posted: Nov 1, 2007 at 17:31 Quote
i havent rode either but i have done a run with a gt i at rabbit i was impressed fairly well

Posted: Nov 1, 2007 at 17:43 Quote
pimpedmanik wrote:
i havent rode either but i have done a run with a gt i at rabbit i was impressed fairly well

actually, i read a decline review of the gt it-1, and like all bike reviews, it was all positive, but if you learn to read between the lines, they weren't too impressed with it

v10 takes it, just pump up the shock when you're climbing, since it has more sag than a transition double has travel

Posted: Nov 1, 2007 at 17:53 Quote
nwd26 wrote:
pimpedmanik wrote: