South Wales - Goldtec Trails AKA Van Road Trails or Jason's Trails - May be flattened

PB Forum :: United Kingdom
South Wales - Goldtec Trails AKA Van Road Trails or Jason's Trails - May be flattened
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Apr 14, 2009 at 13:03 Quote
My first post on here, for a good cause.

There are plans, for the forrestry commision to flatten these awsome trails, details follow below. I'm sure there are some on here who have heard and even ridden them. Their located near a town called Caerphilly in South Wales. Created by Jason Carpenter of Dragon DH.

Unsecure image, only https images allowed: http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f213/TrialsLife/DSC_0012.jpgCraig Jones, Goldtec Trails.

Have a read

A quote from me, in another forum

"Hopefuly something can be sorted out soon.

The trails have been around for a long time now, I've been riding them for at least 6 years. The man most involved in the building of the trails is Jason Carpenter of Dragon Downhill. I belive the site was approved by the forestry commision around 3-4 years ago. After the approval the site was fenced off properly to prevent motorbikes getting up there. The site was also expanded at the same time, wether that was funded by Jason himself or by other means such as the council I'm not sure.

With what the forestry have requested, I think the biggest challenge is funding for the public liability insurance. Other than that the only other issues can be solved with man power, which I can help organise.

"we have no information on user numbers so it is difficult for us to justify such investment of public funds."

There is currently a petition being signed by users of the trails organised by a friend. I also have many photos of people using the trails.

"facilities must have good emergency access and procedures, but the Caerphilly jump spot was relatively isolated."