Heckler

Posted: Apr 11, 2013 at 10:50 Quote
You can get saint 22/36/bg cranksets from chain reaction cycles pretty cheap right now.

Posted: Apr 11, 2013 at 13:31 Quote
Saints are super cheap right now!

Posted: Apr 11, 2013 at 15:54 Quote
Hey guys - I'm new to Hecklers. Picked mine up late last summer and have been enjoying it as much as I can! I recently started developing a creak mostly when pedaling out of the saddle. I was doing a quick clean today and taking a look at the pivots to make sure everything seemed ok and noticed the bottom pivot didn't seem quit flush. One side seems fine while the other has a bit of a gap and doesn't but up flush on the outside. Can any of you guys let me know if this is an issue or do all Hecklers look like this?

http://imgur.com/a/jKy0F

Posted: Apr 11, 2013 at 17:02 Quote
Is there side to side play? If not take your peddles off degrees the threds and do the same to the bb but grease on them then should do te trick! But if there is no play then that's the trick. Dos it make pops on the down hill? My money is on what I said. But who knows.

Posted: Apr 12, 2013 at 6:34 Quote
I didn't notice any play or pops while riding, things just looked a bit odd. I'm going to re-grease everything tonight and see if that fixes the issue. Thanks.

Posted: Apr 12, 2013 at 7:16 Quote
I'm assuming those pivots should be replaced periodically. What's the rule of thumb on when that should take place?

The LBS told me I should replace the shock bushing annually, are these the same? I'm all about preventative maintenance.

Posted: Apr 12, 2013 at 14:33 Quote
Pivots = as need basis generally speaking. Just check, clean, and check frequently. Rotate bearings periodically if you can. Refer to SC instructions/manual. If they start squeaking time to check the pivot bearings.
Bushings = Whenever you feel knocking when compressing shock or shock has play at the mounts. 1) Bushings are cheap so you can stock them 2) they take a jiffy @ LBS to change out.