Best full sus for sub-1000?

PB Forum :: Downhill
Best full sus for sub-1000?
  • Previous Page
Posted: May 25, 2009 at 10:06 Quote
Sorry for the noob thread, but I am a bit of a newbie..!

Yeah, just in the process of choosing a bike to get. I'm pretty settled on the NS Central II 2008 hardtail (DJ/FR and some XC) but haven't really looked into full sus bikes. I did some XC yesterday at Mabie Forest up in Scotland and loved it! So I'd like to look into full sus bikes before I go ahead and buy a bike (mid-July most likely).

Any suggestions? Or do you think the NS would do fine for everything?

Ash Smile

PS: Really am sorry for the newbie thread!

Posted: May 25, 2009 at 10:08 Quote
cant get a good full sus for less than 1000

Posted: May 25, 2009 at 10:08 Quote
Oh well, that was easy Razz

FL
Posted: May 25, 2009 at 10:09 Quote
are you more pushed towards xc or dj/fr as theres a world of difference between them too but for either but i would advise buying a full sus as freeride wunt be too pleasant on a HT and also get some rockshox u-turn forks as then you have adjustability

Posted: May 25, 2009 at 10:11 Quote
Well if your into the more DH side of things I would definitely look into a full sus. A hardtail is much harder to ride for DH but if your new to riding then riding a hardtail for a couple of years will benefit you greatly. The NS is a very good bike for DJ but I'm not too sure about DH and XC.

I would recommend looking at the NS Core. Much more versatile bike that will fulfil your needs Big Grin

Posted: May 25, 2009 at 10:13 Quote
Well, I'm not sure if you know of these places (7stanes in Scotland) but I ride Glentress Freeride park (lots of tables, wallrides, dropoffs, etc.) and went to Mabie Forest yesterday (17km red [difficult] XC trail) and it rocked. Was on a friends Gary Fisher HT Razz It wasn't that bad doing it on a HT really.

But yeah, I'd probably say FR. I know XC bikes are lighter. I'm looking to do more FR/DJ stuff definitely.