Light Downhill Rims, what's the choice?

PB Forum :: Downhill
Light Downhill Rims, what's the choice?
  • Next Page
O+
Posted: Oct 9, 2009 at 13:36 Quote
robc wrote:
I am in love with my Syncos DS 28s...I have been runing them for 2 years now and never had a failure; or flat spots when at or above 35 psi. I was 198lbs last year and this year I am 220 (ya fat and lazy haha) and we ride a ton of gnar stuff here.They are like 540 grams (32 hole)I think and fairly cheap and turn well. Hope that helps

how do you get any traction at 35psi? Confused

Posted: Oct 9, 2009 at 13:40 Quote
Its easy, manafacturers recommended pressures usually start at 35PSI so it has to be possible.

I ride at 40-42psi right now and traction isnt a problem if your suspension is set up right...it took some getting used too and sometimes I do crave a bit more traction from my old days of 29-32psi but I would never go back now. Rolls so fast and my suspension feels like its still at 29-32 psi, just on steep polished slopes of clay I wish I had 29-psi...no biggie I think it has more advantages than disadvantages otherwise I would still be at 29-32psi.

Posted: Oct 9, 2009 at 16:16 Quote
adrenalinaddict wrote:
Thanks guys for all the help, at the mo' I am most intrested in the Stan's ZTR flow rims as I sounds the best but I can find little user reviews on it except for the one on the previous page (Thanks). If anyone has them or has a better option then please Comment!! I can get hold of theese rims at one of my local bike shops, Freeborn for £68.99 is that a good deal?

Thanks guys tup

mtbmaniak wrote:
I've heard the Stan's ZTR Flow rims are amazing. They're 470g each, but I've also heard they're amazingly strong. They have a shorter sidewall which decreases pinch flats, increases tire volume, UST compatible, and they have some kind of internal arch that makes them super stiff and strong. Might be a good way to cut out a lot of rotational weight.

Stans ZTR rims are not suitable for DH/FR...hype.