Old Riders....But not "Old School"

PB Forum :: Pinkbike Groups
Old Riders....But not "Old School"
Posted: Dec 7, 2019 at 16:43 Quote
Its going well just a ton of corners so slower than we hopef. But hey it goin!

Posted: Dec 7, 2019 at 17:53 Quote
My family puts those laminate floors in all our rentals, so I have gotten pretty proficient at installing them..

2 of my friends bought their first houses this year and my wife and I helped them tear out carpet and install the new floors.. I could never do that for a living.. I am not nearly tough enough.

We are all pretty young and can't afford labor on house projects so I just charged them on the IOU system.. So when I need a Doctor, an accountant or a school teacher, I am set. Lol

Posted: Dec 7, 2019 at 23:49 Quote
I tried laminate a couple time and don’t like that they become creaky too soon. Glueing down engineered wood floor seems much more durable. But more expensive.

Posted: Dec 7, 2019 at 23:53 Quote
Axxe wrote:
I tried laminate a couple time and don’t like that they become creaky too soon. Glueing down engineered wood floor seems much more durable. But more expensive.

Our house that we bought this year is a 100 year old house with some cheap laminate floor on it.. The subfloor is absolutely not level and so our floor is super creaky.. Wife thinks it has "charm" but it bothers me.

Posted: Dec 7, 2019 at 23:56 Quote
Axxe wrote:

It is, although in the old days, we used tongue and grove plank boards, which we would blind nail, adding glue helped to avoid any creaks later on. Laminate is a short term fix, better off going to something like Bruce engineered flooring. Did my fair share of flooring projects over 30 yrs..Never had 1 call back.

Posted: Dec 8, 2019 at 0:10 Quote