I need advice people!!!

PB Forum :: Bikes, Parts, and Gear
I need advice people!!!
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
O+
Posted: Sep 13, 2009 at 13:33 Quote
Alright guys. I am bikeless right now and not too happy about it. I am in the process of saving for a new steed but that's where my problems arise. I am a musician and I can only afford one bike. The most I will drop generally is about 6 feet. I like steeps and general technical gravity stuff but I'm not a downhiller by any means. I will also use this bike for general trail riding with my friends that are too pussy to hit fun stuff. As to weather it's used or not depends on my patience for saving money. From what I'm seeing the Specialized SX trail or the Bottlerocket is my best choice but I would like some different opinions. Let me know what you think.

Posted: Sep 13, 2009 at 14:17 Quote
how much do you have to spend and do you want only new or will you consider 2nd hand?

O+
Posted: Sep 13, 2009 at 14:33 Quote
I would consider a 2nd hand bike ridden by someone that had a clue how to treat it. Like I said how much I'm willing to spend really depends on my patience. I hoping to save around 3000 canadian.

Posted: Sep 13, 2009 at 14:39 Quote
you sound like your in the same situation as me! (minus the bikless bit!)
i am looking at the following

- scott voltage fr
- sx trail
- rocky moutain slayer ss
- trek scratch
- commincal min dh
- marin quake

however i am only looking new. but theres a few to look at

Posted: Sep 13, 2009 at 14:41 Quote
Have you looked into the reign X? I heard they pedal like a xc bike but it has 6.7" travel (I think) in the rear. I think it's a legit bike.

Posted: Sep 13, 2009 at 14:46 Quote
how could i forget about the regin x!

i currently ride a standard regin, and its sweet! pedels amazing on the uphills, but has taken everything i have thrown at it. i can only imagine the new regin x would be even better

O+
Posted: Sep 13, 2009 at 14:46 Quote