The MTB Quick Question Thread 3.0 - Parts names & abreviations link on first post.

PB Forum :: Bikes, Parts, and Gear
The MTB Quick Question Thread 3.0 - Parts names & abreviations link on first post.
Posted: Jul 23, 2012 at 22:28 Quote
christianridesbikes wrote:
Kr0weh wrote:
skibbe wrote:

You dont need to know how much travel your fork has to know whatsize headset you need. All you need to know is what size your headtube is. The standards are 1 1/8th inch, 1/2 inch, and tapered which is 1 1/8th on top and 1/2 on bottom. Judging by your frame it seems to be a 1 1/8th

Ya, I must of worded that poorly, I know fork travel is irrellevant. But thanks for answering my headset question!
what do you mean though? Steerer length, size?

I meant to ask about how I measure the diameter of my head tube; whether the measurement was taken from the inside of the tube wall or outside, but I guess it doesn't matter. Stupid question lol

I'm new to this whole thing and just wanted to make sure the steerer size and headtube size match.

Posted: Jul 23, 2012 at 22:40 Quote
Kr0weh wrote:
christianridesbikes wrote:
Kr0weh wrote:

Ya, I must of worded that poorly, I know fork travel is irrellevant. But thanks for answering my headset question!
what do you mean though? Steerer length, size?

I meant to ask about how I measure the diameter of my head tube; whether the measurement was taken from the inside of the tube wall or outside, but I guess it doesn't matter. Stupid question lol

I'm new to this whole thing and just wanted to make sure the steerer size and headtube size match.
yeah it will either be 1.5 or 1 1/8. Measurement is internally for the headtube and outer for the steerer

Posted: Jul 24, 2012 at 1:33 Quote
whats a decent 26" rim under 60 bucks? i'm doing mostly dh and am

Posted: Jul 24, 2012 at 4:36 Quote
Thanks christianridesbikes!

Posted: Jul 24, 2012 at 6:04 Quote