show off your Santa Cruz

PB Forum :: Santa Cruz
show off your Santa Cruz
Posted: Dec 10, 2019 at 9:05 Quote
seraph wrote:
tgent wrote:
seraph wrote:

I'd never call P321 hubs "very light" lol

I'm no expert on hubs, so I may very well be wrong. I just looked up a few for reference. P321 rear is 282g, i9 Hydra is 286g, and a DT Swiss 240S is 232g all per their sites...

Actual weight on a 240 is closer to 220g. But the flange difference on the 240 vs the 321 is so drastic that they're hardly comparable to a wheel builder.

Nice, thanks for the info. Like I said, I'm no expert on wheels, so this is great info for me. So you mean the flange is larger on the 240s and that's better for wheel building, I'm assuming overall wheel strength?? What kind of hubs do you recommend? I've always been a big fan of I9 especially the new Hydras, and Onyx, but haven't ever been able to get over how heavy they are.

Posted: Dec 10, 2019 at 9:48 Quote
tgent wrote:
seraph wrote:
tgent wrote:

I'm no expert on hubs, so I may very well be wrong. I just looked up a few for reference. P321 rear is 282g, i9 Hydra is 286g, and a DT Swiss 240S is 232g all per their sites...

Actual weight on a 240 is closer to 220g. But the flange difference on the 240 vs the 321 is so drastic that they're hardly comparable to a wheel builder.

Nice, thanks for the info. Like I said, I'm no expert on wheels, so this is great info for me. So you mean the flange is larger on the 240s and that's better for wheel building, I'm assuming overall wheel strength?? What kind of hubs do you recommend? I've always been a big fan of I9 especially the new Hydras, and Onyx, but haven't ever been able to get over how heavy they are.

The flange on the 321 is way larger than that of the 240. The 240 is lightweight because it's got small flanges, but small flanges equals longer spokes which means flexier wheels, generally. High flange, short spoke, stiff wheel.

Posted: Dec 10, 2019 at 11:49 Quote