Dirt Jump Bikes. any bike welcome as long as its dj or street

PB Forum :: Dirt Jumping & Street
Dirt Jump Bikes. any bike welcome as long as its dj or street
Posted: Apr 2, 2020 at 18:34 Quote
Yeah, that’s the simplest way. You could also try and look at the differences between the two bikes and try to figure out exactly what’s causing the discomfort so you can mitigate it somehow. Things like reach and rise can make a huge difference in handling. Simple things like a new bar or stem can be a huge deal. If I had to take a wild guess without even seeing your bikes, I’d say you’d probably feel better if you put a wide bar with at least 2” more rise on your DJ. You could also throw some higher volume tires on there if you have the clearance.

Posted: Apr 3, 2020 at 2:05 Quote
My transition from dj to bmx was super easy because I started riding bmx in a trails frame
This meant slack head tube, long chainstays and overall similar positioning as a bmx

Jumping from a DJ or a mtb to a street killing machine with a 76⁰HA is gonna feel weird unless you ride each bike more often

Posted: Apr 3, 2020 at 7:09 Quote
Yep. Ride All the Bikes all the time.

Posted: Apr 3, 2020 at 8:05 Quote
If anything, I ride predominantly my dirt jumper, but the skills that gives me with balance, manualling, jumping and bunny hopping makes riding my trail bike a doddle. Like riding big skateparks all the time makes me so much more confident out on the trails, I barely even ride it but I'm always doing black runs and skinnies etc when I'm out on the trails, if anything I try and find things like roots and ruts or mounds on the edge of flatter trails to turn into jumps etc makes it more enjoyable

Posted: Apr 3, 2020 at 8:19 Quote