Dirt Jump Bikes. any bike welcome as long as its dj or street

PB Forum :: Dirt Jumping & Street
Dirt Jump Bikes. any bike welcome as long as its dj or street
Posted: Jun 27, 2022 at 13:50 Quote
crs-one wrote:
I asked this in an MTB thread and didn't get much input shockingly.

Freecoaster users, does having to pedal backwards on your trailbikes hold you back?

Trying to figure out "Bikepark" spec on my next MTB frame. External routing so it's easy to swap shit around for a weekend. Obviously the dropper goes and a pivotal combo goes on. But beyond that, torn between SS and neutral gear. SS is lighter and more reliable, and I've learned some spin and cab moves on my current (normal 12s drivetrain) trailbike so clearly the backwards pedaling isn't a dealbreaker. But on the other hand, I grew up in the Aaron Chase era, and I've been riding a KHE coaster for nearly ten years on the street bike.

Haven't gone too deep into jib moves on the MTB yet, so I haven't been able to establish if the preference carries over or not.
as a rider of both I prefer a cassette on my enduro

And I am a freecoaster fo lyf

Posted: Jun 28, 2022 at 5:46 Quote
@Nothing2say That's a pretty solid sample size, good stuff. When I did a neutral gear on my P3 back in 2009, I had a Hope SS hub and I did 2 cogs next to the flange, then made a little channel for the chain to sit in, with slightly raised borders. I treated it as singlespeed, the second cog was basically so that if the chain skipped slightly, it wasn't going to jump into the neutral section. Here, I have a full-length freehub to work with, so I could actually have a usable little cluster like you suggest, as well as a decent section of neutral gear. My MTB's rear hub is currently MS, but as expensive as i9 shit is, buying an HG freehub body and leaving the neutral setup installed WOULD make the swap faster. Hmmm......

jespinal wrote:
as a rider of both I prefer a cassette on my enduro

And I am a freecoaster fo lyf