New Brake Pad Clearance on Avid

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
New Brake Pad Clearance on Avid
  • Previous Page
Posted: Feb 6, 2010 at 15:26 Quote
Have any of my fellow mechs noticed the lack of clearance when installing new genuine Avid brake pads in Avid brakes?

I've noticed on several new bikes, my own Elixir Rs, a few other Elixir 5, R and Cr as well as juicys lately that there is a fair bit of drag untill they burn in a bit.

All brakes are correctly bled, no other problems and I have talked to the Norco service reps who said quite often the find the same thing.

I've tried to reset the pistons, various trics for positioning the calipers ect. It isn't really a big deal but I'm just wondering if anyone else is noticing this.

Posted: Feb 6, 2010 at 15:30 Quote
personally ive never seen a brake yet that didnt make a bit of NOISE when it had NEW pads in it.... but im sure im just a stupid newbie and know nothing so take my answer with a grain of salt if ya like.... Beer

Posted: Feb 6, 2010 at 15:35 Quote
qkenuf4u wrote:
personally ive never seen a brake yet that didnt make a bit of NOISE when it had NEW pads in it.... but im sure im just a stupid newbie and know nothing so take my answer with a grain of salt if ya like.... Beer

They can make a bit of noise during burn in and usually you don't have much room to work with but the Avids seem tighter than Shimano and Hayes. At least we are getting our money's worth!

Posted: Feb 6, 2010 at 19:38 Quote
I've noticed the exact same thing at the shop actually! Every single newer (within the last couple of years anyway) Avid brake that when installing new pads, there just isn't any clearance! I've just given up on a lot of the bikes, setting the brakes up so there is no real drag, just a bit of rub, and within a few good rides the rubbing tends to go away.