Which Fork Length for DH: 7" or 8"

PB Forum :: Downhill
Which Fork Length for DH: 7" or 8"
  • Previous Page
Posted: Feb 23, 2010 at 10:41 Quote
I'm considering getting a new frame and the only way I can afford to get what I want is to keep my 7" Boxxer. I'm looking at getting an 8" rear travel frame like a VP-Free, Devinci Wilson, or Iron Horse Sunday.

My initial thought is that longer is better to suck up bumps and cover for my mistakes/shortcomings. I also figure that since so many of the new forks are all 8" that this must be the way of the future.

Now I know tha tsome pros can or do race on 7" travel forks, but I'm no pro. I'm about a Sport/Expert racing level and like something relatively raked out 65-66 degrees. Does anyone with an experienced opinion have something to help me out?

BTW - the nature of my question is not strictly for DH racing, I'd only be racing on this bike about 20% of the total time ridden on it.

Thanks

Posted: Feb 23, 2010 at 10:50 Quote
7" will be fine. Rake really depends on your ATC, if it's not enough for you then you can look into the possibility of angled reducer cups.

Posted: Feb 23, 2010 at 11:16 Quote
7" inches will do fine until you can afford a new fork. I rode a 2004 boxxer team on my DHR for a while

Posted: Feb 23, 2010 at 12:31 Quote
Unhallowed wrote:
7" will be fine. Rake really depends on your ATC, if it's not enough for you then you can look into the possibility of angled reducer cups.

Sorry... ATC???

Posted: Feb 23, 2010 at 12:32 Quote
Do you think stiffening up the springs on the 7" would in some way help make up for the shorter travel? Or is it better to leave it the same set up as if they were the same shocks, just different length travel?

Posted: Feb 23, 2010 at 12:32 Quote
jengah wrote:
Unhallowed wrote:

Sorry... ATC???
axle to crown length or height

Posted: Feb 23, 2010 at 12:34 Quote
I will be running a 66 (6.7 inch single crown) on my vp-free (8.5 inch travel frame)