is here

Aug 15, 2003
by twitter twitter  
BlackBox racing continues to develop and define the most innovative component technology utilizing today’s best athletes and now hosts its own web site, officially launched August 16, 2003. The site will offer insight into the BlackBox program and will include product overviews, athlete interviews, history, news, as well as weekly features and updates. “The BlackBox program is an investment in technology and athletes, the result is cutting-edge componentry,” states Global Marketing Manager David Zimberoff. “SRAM and RockShox have always been known for race proven innovation. is a way for us to show off our best athletes and the products that we develop to help them go fast.”

BlackBox began in 2000 when RockShox was looking to define its leading-edge suspension technology. Similarly, SRAM established its SRD component group; the two merged in 2002. Current technologies borne of or being developed in the BlackBox program include titanium nitride upper tubes, Slippery Silver upper tubes, the one-piece carbon crown-steerer, X.0 carbon-cage rear derailleur, and the handlebar-mounted Remote Control compression adjuster. There are nearly 20 BlackBox innovations currently being raced to the tops of podiums around the world.

BlackBox athletes are chosen through a combination of requirements. “We have World Champions, World Cup Points leaders, UCI points and National Champions. Some of the World’s best riders don’t qualify making the BlackBox program, making it one of the exclusive clubs in cycling,” states Jeremiah Boobar, BlackBox program manager. “It’s an honor to be chosen and to have access to the technology, its something you really have to earn,” states current 3x national trials champion and stunt rider Jeff Lenosky.

Current BlackBox athletes include; Roland Green, Steve Peat, Eric Carter, Wade Bootes, Jimena Florit, Kirt Voreis, Fionn Griffiths, Alison Sydor, Filip Meirhaeghe, Kashi Leuchs, Barbara Blatter, Thomas Frischknecht, Nathan Rennie, Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski, John Kirkcaldie, Mickael Pascal, Missy Giove, Conrad Stoltz, Lado Fumic, Todd Wells, Sam Hill, Timo Pritzel and Jeff Lenosky.

Visit and tell them Pinkbike sent you!

Posted In:


Post a Comment

Copyright © 2000 - 2019. All rights reserved.
dv65 0.013084
Mobile Version of Website