20 Steps - How We Built the Swatch Rocket Air Course

Apr 30, 2015 at 10:51
Apr 30, 2015
by Flying Metal  
 
You must login to Pinkbike.
Don't have an account? Sign up

Join Pinkbike  Login

Every year, the Flying Metal Crew out of Switzerland build a brand new and creative Slopestyle course in the iceskating rink in the city of Thun. The theme for the 2015 Swatch Rocket Air is "Junkyard" and the Thunder Ice skating rink has literally been transformed into a junkyard, with various pieces of "Junk" being integrated into the course, including an old areoplane! We tell you how the Flying Metal Crew builds a creative Slopestyle course in 20 Steps.


Swatch Rocket Air
Step 1: Find a theme and design all your print stuff based on the theme.

How to Build a Creative Slopestyle Course in 20 Steps
Step 2: Plan an awesome course.

How to Build a Creative Slopestyle Course in 20 Steps
Step 3: Get machines...lot of machines.

andremaurer.ch
Step 4: Find lot of motivated volunteers (thanks a lot guys!)

Building the track Foto andremaurer.ch
Step 5: Start scaffolding.

Photo spitznagel.ch
Step 6: Start building jumps...

Building the track Foto andremaurer.ch
Step 7: and berms...

Swatch Rocket Air 2015 Foto andremaurer.ch
Step 8: Compare your track with the initial plan.

Foto andremaurer.ch
Step 9: Put steel sheets on the side of the landing

andremaurer.ch
Step 10: Paint the landings rusty.

Building the track Foto andremaurer.ch
Step 11: Find an airplane.

Building the track Foto andremaurer.ch
Step 12:.. A cool looking airplane.

[PI=
andremaurer.ch
size=l0 align=c][/PI]
Step 13: Integrate the airplane into your course.

bigquotesThe riders can jump the aeroplane or bonk it with a wheel, I leave the creativity to the riders and see what happens. - Course builder Ramon Hunziker.


andremaurer.ch
Step 14: Find cool looking trash cars (better don't integrate them into the course.)

andremaurer.ch
Step 16: Airbrush the quarter.

andremaurer.ch
Step 17: Build barrels into the course.

andremaurer.ch
Step 18: Integrate your sponsors nicely.

How to Build a Creative Slopestyle Course in 20 Steps
Step 19: Proudly overview the finished work.

andremaurer.ch
Step 20: Ride it!


Don't forget to watch the finals LIVE on Pinkbike this weekend.

Europe: 8pm CET May 2nd
USA: 11am PDT (Los Angles), 2pm EST (New York) May 2nd
Australia: 4am (Sydney) on May 3rd
New Zealand: 6am (Auckland) on May 3rd


Learn more about our work on flyingmetal.ch or facebook/flyingmetalcrew.


MENTIONS: @flyingmetal

Must Read This Week






19 Comments

  • + 37
 $100 to whoever transfers over the plane.
  • + 10
 nose bonk transfer or wallride the plane would be sick too!
  • + 2
 I spy planeride opportunities
  • + 3
 careful someone will take you up on that
  • + 1
 unless you "wing" it
  • + 22
 Half slopestyle course, half Tony Hawk's pro skater level.
  • + 3
 @flying metal, sieht super aus, hoffe das Event wird ausverkauft sein
@Ramon_Hunziker: viel Glück
  • + 3
 This is going to be good!
  • + 2
 well obviously i want to ride that so bad...
  • + 1
 Can't wait seeing this live!
  • + 1
 Damn. So much effort. Props to the builders!!
  • + 2
 All stoke-no joke.
  • - 2
 Step #1-
GET THE BRAND NAME ON ERE'THANG
Below threshold threads are hidden

Post a Comment



Copyright © 2000 - 2017. Pinkbike.com. All rights reserved.
dv56 0.035557
Mobile Version of Website