Replay: Mons Royale Dual Speed and Style - Crankworx Innsbruck 2017

Jun 22, 2017
by Pinkbike Staff  
Crankworx Innsbruck 2017 banner masthead



Up Next:

Raiffeisen Club Pump Track Challenge presented by RockShox, Friday, 23 June:

• 8:00–10:00PM CEST
• 7:00–9:00PM BST
• 11:00–1:00PM PDT
• 2:00–4:00PM (USA, NY Time)
• 4:00–6:00AM Saturday (Australia, Sydney)
• 6:00–8:00AM Saturday NZST

Crankworx Innsbruck Downhill presented by iXS, Saturday, 24 June:

• 3:30–5:30PM CEST
• 2:30–4:30PM BST
• 6:30–8:30AM PDT
• 9:30–11:30AM (USA, NY Time)
• 11:30–1:30AM, Sunday (Australia, Sydney)
• 1:30–3:30AM, Sunday NZST

Crankworx Innsbruck Slopestyle presented by Kenda, Sunday, 25 June:

• 3:30–6:00PM CEST
• 2:30–5:00PM BST
• 6:30–9:00AM PDT
• 9:30–12:00PM (USA, NY Time)
• 11:30–2:00AM, Monday (Australia, Sydney)
• 1:30–4:00AM, Monday NZST



MENTIONS: @officialcrankworx / @SramMedia / @iXSsports




20 Comments

  • + 11
 Bring back dual.
  • + 9
 How is Brad Jay still commentating?!
  • + 17
 yeahh...his commenting is quite nerve wracking, but propably he's told to be overly stoked and asking the same old questions every round again ("So, Cam how important is the style over the Speed?"-Yeah its ver important,Brad") Couldnt actually blame him or Cam for that. Thats just how U.S sport coverage is supposed to be: Overly dramatic, fully sponsored/bannerd and cutted into live peaces, interrupted by some lame standard interviews with a blonde girl.
  • + 3
 @chainzuck: Those post-ride interviews always get me. After each run "what was your mindset? what do you have to do on your next run?" just ridiculous questions and you can tell most of the riders hate them. Watch Anthony Messere's face in any post-run interview, he always lets out a little laugh at how stupid the questions are
  • + 2
 @chainzuck: LOL. true its awful. too bad. i and many others just can't stand watching it with him around.
  • + 2
 @JustinLund: it has become more like hockeymedia´s questions... the same...the same..
  • + 4
 Great event. Sucks to see big tricks not having room for extra points.. there should be a banger bonus or some other reward system for such high risk and time penalizing tricks. Woot for veteran slope boys still getting to compete and push limits!
  • + 8
 Or a crankworks 4x series.
  • + 4
 THIS! a thousand times
  • + 8
 Raddest courser ever ??
  • + 4
 nice track
  • + 3
 So rad!
  • - 1
 I may be under a rock, but I still don't understand the rationale behind speed and style. Something's wrong if you have guys saying "I learned how to do a backflip two weeks ago and I just beat the guy who won the last two events."

Why not just treat it like a dual slalom or a simultaneous head-to-head slopestyle event graded on style, with penalties if you go too slow to wait out the other person? Like if your opponent hits a checkpoint before you reach the previous one, then penalty.
  • - 3
 Totally agree with you, this format is half-assed. Basically it forces riders to go too fast to actually do a stylish trick. Just make it two events. I`m not really interested in watching speed and style, but I would definitely watch head-to-head slopestyle and dual slalom.
  • + 7
 I think it's an awesome discipline. The jumps are built so they can trick them at speed.
  • + 2
 @kbakes: I know how can you say it's not good for tricks when you see that final...and dang reed with a at speed front flip..or Louis coming in hot for a corked 720...that's ridiculous
  • + 2
 LOL. Soderstrom Pissing next to the start gate at 26:13 hahahahaha
  • + 1
 thought I was the only one who noticed
  • + 1
 How do the points relate to the time?

Post a Comment



Copyright © 2000 - 2017. Pinkbike.com. All rights reserved.
dv65 0.033606
Mobile Version of Website