Mons Royale Dual Speed and Style, Crankworx Rotorua 2017 - Replay and Results

Mar 30, 2017
by Pinkbike Staff  

Should speed beat style or style beat speed? That's the question posed during the Dual Speed and Style event of Crankworx and for the first stop of 2017 here in Rotorua, it was no different. At the end of the day we saw a lot of racers making it through over the style kids and eventually, the final four was filled with the European pinners of Adrien Loron and Tomas Slavik, American ripper, Mitch Ropelato, and Jakub Vencl doing it for the trick supporters, but with plenty of speed too. But even corked front flips on trail bikes – according to the commentary one of the most exciting things seen in this event – were not enough to take a rider through a heat against a faster competitor. Loron went to the final but the consistent tricks a high speed of Vencl resulted in a good mix of riders in the final. When all was said and done, it was Jakub Vencl's combination of speed and tricks that got him the win.

Pro Men Results
1. Jakub Vencl
2. Adrien Loron
3. Mitch Ropelato
4. Tomas Slavi



Up Next:
LIVE ON PINKBIKE– Saturday, April 1, 2017

Slopestyle in Memory of McGazza

Tune in to Pinkbike for the live broadcast.

3:30PM – 6:00PM NZDT (Local Time)
1:30PM – 3:00PM AEST (Australia, Sydney)
3:30AM – 6:00AM BST (UK, London)
7:30PM – 10:00PM PST March 31 (LA, USA)
10:30PM – 1:00AM EST March 31 (NY, USA)


Sunday, April 2, 2017

Crankworx Rotorua Air Downhill

Tune in to Pinkbike for the live broadcast.

1:30PM – 3:30PM NZDT (Local Time)
11:30AM – 1:30PM AEST (Australia, Sydney)
1:30AM – 3:30AM BST (UK, London)
5:30PM – 7:30PM PST April 1 (LA, USA)
8:30PM – 10:30PM EST April 1 (NY, USA, )


The below events will not be live on Pinkbike

Friday, March 31, 2017

Official Oceania Whip-Off Championships presented by Spank
730PM NZDT – (Local Time)
530PM – (Australia, Sydney)
730AM – (UK Time)
1030PM – March 30 (LA Time)
230AM – (USA, NY Time)


Saturday, April 1, 2017

Rotorua Downhill presented by IXS

930AM NZDT – (Local Time)
730AM – (Australia, Sydney)
930PM – March 31 (UK Time)
130PM – March 31 (LA Time)
430PM – (USA, NY Time)




MENTIONS: @officialcrankworx / @monsroyale




49 Comments

  • + 37
 Mitch Ropelato won in my books! That was out of nowhere
  • + 3
 Yes, that was unreal. Mitch should have got some extra points for that clean landing. But i don´t want to complain , judging is so a hard job. And who cares - this is a sport where the event count more than the results. And that battle was a highlight .For sure, Kyle Straight is still rocking.
  • + 23
 My wife is gonna be pissed off that I'll be watching this in bed while she try's to sleep
  • + 23
 START ALREADY!!! I WANT BIKE RIDING THINGS ON MOVING PICTURES!
  • + 3
 same
  • + 4
 Consigned- I'm on vacation in Bend atm but I'm sitting on the couch waiting to watch on my f'n phone.
  • + 3
 One might also say I want to watch clicks with wheels in it
  • + 18
 How does a backflip with some X-ups or bar spins (93 points) beat a cork front flip on a 650b trail bike (90 points)? WTF. Mitch was robbed.
  • + 10
 AND clipped in!
  • + 2
 gramboh- its because it was a combo trick. The same goes in slope comps. Personally I think they finally nailed the judging format of tricks vs. time.
  • + 14
 Is it just me or is the judging not consistent. Cody Johnson got -10 points or something like that for a toboggan to manual and Slavik 0 for a plain toboggan. Plus Barry Nobles got robbed in my opinion.
  • + 17
 And why the hell are x ups worth so much? They are easier than just about anything else. A good table is way harder to get down than an x up, but you'd probably get docked for the flatest table known to man kind.
  • + 4
 I came to the comments to say exactly that haha
  • + 16
 LOOOOOOOOOOOOOL how DAFUQ Loron goes over Ropelato ?????????????????????????????
  • + 24
 Mitch got robbed.
  • + 12
 Does Tomas Slavik have two broken bones in his wrist? I think they forgot to mention that..
  • + 10
 Does anyone have the rule book for the Brad Jay drinking game? How many shots do I take every time he says "rack em and stack em"?
  • + 6
 If you took more than one each time you'd risk alcohol poisoning
  • + 4
 @mprosper: I'm so wasted right now.
  • + 1
 As the years go on I am somehow getting used to Brad Jay and don't even find him annoying at all anymore. Odd. He has chilled out a bit and Cam of course does a great job.
  • + 6
 Why bother have this event and continue to call it speed and style if riders are getting penalties for straight air speeding it... It's obvs just about tricks now
  • + 13
 Well last year the guy who won didn't do any tricks, so I guess they're trying to compensate this year.
  • + 2
 @Kaicycle: actualy he did same tricks as today.. Toboggan and xup
  • + 1
 Speed ---------->>>>>>> AND ---------- style AND
  • + 2
 @jakecallcut: since the speed aspect doesn't really count this year, and in fact counted for negative points, or is no longer a speed based event. Just style. Rebrand it trick slalom if speed counts for nothing. Cody Johnson got -10 points for doing a combo, what more do they want the speed guys to do?
  • + 4
 @Stinky1138: 'What more do they want the speed guys to do?' Be better at that particular discipline which involves speed AND big tricks....? If Bas van was doing slope style, he wouldn't get extra points because he can't do big tricks, he would be scored low because that is how slope style works. SO when a racer enters a Speed and style event, you can't say, 'oh but they won the race, and they can't do tricks like the other riders so it's not fair' Unless their lead is a good 200ft, they are not wining without tricks. That is why they added the -10 for tiny tricks to encourage them. (i understand the scoring was a pretty inconsistent) If you aren't tricking in a speed and style event, you should just stick to DS or learn to adapt to the different discipline.
  • + 1
 Speed and style comment sections are full of 'oh speed doesn't count then' or 'it's not fair on the racers'. It's NOT dual slalom and it's NOT slopestyle it IS SPEED -----> AND ------STYLE it just so happens some slope riders are good enough to be fast and have learned tricks.When riding an mtb, you can learn tricks but it doesn't stop you from learning to go fast.
  • + 4
 Hell yeah Mitch and Jakub!!!
  • + 4
 I'm sitting on my toilet dropping the kids off for school
  • + 23
 Are they on the swim team?
  • + 3
 Oh, no women competing this year Frown damn shame.
  • + 2
 I am currently suffering from a bad case of bike-deprivation. please send help
  • + 4
 Nooo T maC! Frown
  • + 4
 kyle straight to Frown
  • + 2
 Sorry tmic. Was pulling for you man.
  • + 2
 so its pretty much just style minus the speed now
  • + 1
 what kind of helmet is Jakub Vencl wearing?
that's not a tld is it?

edit: its an o'neal
  • + 3
 Fuckin load!
  • + 2
 When does the cricket match start?
  • + 0
 There needs to be like 4 features each of which has a trick you must do like backflip on number one tail whip on two etc etc
  • + 3
 not thought this through have you
  • + 1
 The DH looks like it's a be a banger
  • + 1
 Is it just me or is Brad saying: "Your Mum's royale" ;D
  • - 2
 Love having Ty in the booth. The man knows his stuff on the style, and is good buds with most of these competitors.
  • + 1
 Cam?
  • + 0
 when is the whip off?
Below threshold threads are hidden

Post a Comment



Copyright © 2000 - 2019. Pinkbike.com. All rights reserved.
dv65 0.036882
Mobile Version of Website