Race Recap: Phat Wednesday August 29 - Whistler Mountain Bike Park

Sep 3, 2019
by WhistlerMountain BikePark  

Phat Wednesday presented by Kokanee – Race Report #9
F-Cancer Chainless A-Line
August 28 2019

Chains were off and costumes were on as the Whistler Mountain Bike Park delivered a stunning late summer evening for everyone’s favorite party race, The F-Cancer Chainless A-Line to raise funds for Families Fighting Cancer in the Sea to Sky.

All manner of outfits were on show to tackle the iconic A-line, racers were sporting everything from onesies to mankinis in the only race where Party trains are the norm.

The race was hotly billed as the Trevor Burke and Chris Kovarik showdown, both locked on 1250 points going into the season-ender. On the night though, neither took the win. Remy Metailler laid down a 4:12.98 in only his second #worldcupwednesday of 2019, edging Burke by only +0.29 with Simon Rus rounding out the podium. Kovarik took 4th on the night seeing Burke take the overall Open Male title by a mere 20 points.

The injured Christina Chappetta had to cheer on from the sidelines as Jessie Jones won the Female Open category ahead of debutant Emily Wright and Danielle Bordeleau. Chappetta’s excellent early season results saw her hold on to claim her maiden Open Championship.

Mathieu Hebert notched his 7th win of the summer in the Veteran Men's division ahead of Andrew Gunn and Adin Daneker. Scarily, the big Frenchman will likely be even faster in 2020, after walking away with a brand new 29” GT Fury from the grand prize draw!

Lisa Mason edged out Series champ Michelle Chang to win Master Female on the night, whilst the usual suspects of Shane Gayton and Adam Dagg had to settle for second and third respectively in the Master Men as newcomer Gonzalo Serenelu took the win with a 4:29.61. The absent Steve Storey took out the division title.

In the junior divisions, Fresh off a clean sweep of her Crankworx races, Lara Markthaler claimed the Junior Female win in her first-ever Phat Wednesday, edging out Sofia Guy and Lily Boucher. On the Boys side, Wei Tien Ho was triumphant, 1 second ahead of the consistent Ethan Donohoe and Sami Tietzel. Heidi Schenk and Mason Gautrey took the series wins.

Last but not least, Ryan Griffith finished the season the way he started by laying down an ultra-competitive 4:31.42 to trump the Male Grom Division and claim the series win. To put that in perspective, the 13 year old maestro finished less than a second behind Hebert. Floyd Guy and Anthony Shelly Rounded out the podium on the night.

The feel-good factor flowed into the après and award ceremony at the GLC which raised over $3700.00 for Families Fighting Cancer in the sea to sky. Thank you to all who contributed generously.

Full results and series standing available at www.spokesman.online.

Phat Wednesday is proudly presented by Kokanee, GT, Sram, RockSox, IXS, GMC, Pinkbike, Go Pro, GBB, Dakine, Spank, Clif, Oakley and Ride Concepts.

A huge thank you to all our Event Staff, Volunteer Marshalls, Trail Crew and Bike Park Patrol for all their efforts across the course of the season.

Phat Wednesday presented by Kokanee will be back phatter than ever in 2020.

Benny Devall locking in.

Lara Markthaler pre-race.

Fashions in the field.

No chains in sight.

The iconic A-Line drop in.

ZEP coach Charles Renaud-Roy with speed from the start.

Events Marshall Isadora on duty.

Ryan Griffith getting sideways on his way to top spot in the Grom Male.

Grom Male 13 and under
1 78 Ryan Griffith 4:33.775
2 138 Floyd Guy 4:39.854
3 151 Anthony Shelly 4:41.821

Gabrial Sanchez on the up.

Junior Male 14-17
1 315 Wei Tienho 4:35.540
2 214 Ethan Donohoe 4:36.578
3 171 Sami Teitzel 4:47.612

Warm temps didn’t deter Dennis Barrera’s choice of outfit.

Matty Tongue dashing in red.

Party train of Party shirts.

Sights that can’t be unseen.

Junior Female 17 and under
1 471 Lara Markthaler 4:50.448
2 398 Sofia Guy 4:58.745
3 472 Lily Boucher 5:09.817

Veteran Male 40+
1 99 Mathieu Hebert 4:30.894
2 227 Andrew Gunn 4:32.230
3 373 Adin Daneker 4:33.448

Chris Dunne going under.

Master Male 30-39
1 491 Gonzalo Serenelu 4:29.614
2 34 Shane Gayton 4:29.774
3 154 Adam Dagg 4:31.510

Will Westwood wearing #1

You cannot beat nights like these in the Whistler Mountain Bike Park.

Party Trains in full effect.

Female Open 18+
1 129 Jessie Jones 4:43.815
2 180 Emily Wright 4:48.939
3 314 Danielle Bordeleau 4:50.221

The spiritual home of Phat Wednesday.

Huge thanks to all who contributed generously to families Fighting Cancer in the Sea to Sky.

Male Open 18+
1 396 Remy Metailler 4:12.985
2 474 Trevor Burke 4:13.276
3 355 Simon Rus 4:16.856

Just when we thought the big man couldn’t get any faster, Mathieu Hebert took home the grand draw prize of a 2019 29” GT Fury.

Master Female 30+
1 425 Lisa Mason 4:48.300
2 64 Michelle Chang 4:51.269
3 81 Amy Shenton 4:52.456

Your 2019 Series Champions.
Male Open – Trevor Burke 1300 points
Female Open – Christine Chapetta 921 points
Master Male – Steve Storey 1310 points
Master Female – Michelle Chang 1480 points
Veteran Male - Mathieu Hebert 1560 points
Junior Male – Mason Gautrey 1000 points
Male Grom – Ryan Griffith 1540 points
Junior Female – Heidi Schenk 1340 points

Just as our Phat series concludes for 2019, the DH racing isn’t quite done yet. Next Saturday September 7th Bars of Fury returns for the grueling super-D race from the summit of Whistler mountain to Creekside. A 25 minute, 5000+ ft decent race like none other. For more information and registration head to www.bike.whistlerblackcomb.com

Photos by Clint Trahan
Words by Steve Crowley

Regions in Article
Whistler Mountain Bike Park


  • 1 0
 speedos make you faster, it's just science! Next year all the guys will be wearing them
  • 1 0
 It’s true - I cant unsee that....

Post a Comment

Copyright © 2000 - 2020. Pinkbike.com. All rights reserved.
dv56 0.009888
Mobile Version of Website