Powered by Outside

Replay & Results: Stage 5 of the Cape Epic

Mar 25, 2022
by Sarah Moore  

Words: Cape Epic

Today Stage 5 of the Absa Cape Epic 2022 got underway. It was a transition stage that started in Greyton and finished after 115 kilometers in distance and 2400 meters of climbing in Stellenbosch.

The sun came out to witness Marco Joubert (RSA) and Pieter du Toit (RSA) of team Imbuko Type Dev breaking away after 70km. The all South African team, wearing the African red jerseys, rode the last 45km of the stage all alone upfront with the chasing pack unable to hunt them down. It was their first-ever stage win at the Absa Cape Epic. Overall leaders in yellow Andreas Seewald (GER) and Martin Stosek (CZE) finished in second 2 minutes and 6 seconds behind. Toyota-NinetyOne-Specialized’s Matthew Beers (RSA) and Christopher Blevins (USA) followed in third. Sofia Gómez Villafane (ARG) and Haley Batten (USA) of NinetyOne-Songo-Specialized won Stage 5 in the women’s category, tightening their grip on the overall leaders' orange jersey at the same. They set themselves apart with Faces Rola of Candice Lill (RSA) and Mariske Strauss (RSA) from the very beginning of the race. From then on, it was both teams working together throughout the stage, ending with a tactical game towards the finish line. NinetyOne-Songo-Specialized played it clever and finished a couple of second in front of Faces Rola. Private Client Holdings’ Mari Rabie (RSA) & Hayley Preen (RSA) show another great performance and finish the third consecutive day in third place.

Stage 5 Results


1st. Pieter DU TOIT & Marco JOUBERT 04:04:45.7
2nd. Andreas SEEWALD & Martin STOŠEK +00:02:06.0
3rd. Matthew BEERS & Christopher BLEVINS +00:02:10.4


1st. Haley BATTEN & Sofia GOMEZ VILLAFANE 04:53:08.0
2nd. Candice LILL & Mariske STRAUSS +00:00:05.7
3rd. Mari RABIE & Hayley PREEN +00:08:52.0

Stage 5 replay:

OVERALL Standings after Stage 5


1. Andreas Seewald & Martin Stošek 21:33:09.2
2. Matthew Beers & Christopher Blevins +00:06:54.4
3. Georg Egger & Lukas Baum +00:07:02.5
4. Hans Becking & José Dias+00:20:44.6
5. Urs Huber & Simon Schneller +00:27:23.5


1. Haley Batten & Sofia Gomez Villafane 26:12:46.3
2. Candice Lill & Mariske Strauss +00:15:49.9
2. Pauline Ferrand-Prévot & Robyn De Groot +00:26:59.1
4. Ariane Lüthi & Amy Wakefield +00:46:41.7
5. Mari Rabie & Hayley Preen +00:58:16.0

Author Info:
sarahmoore avatar

Member since Mar 30, 2011
1,452 articles

  • 19 0
 Bummed to check in on the race and see nobody here chatting about it… Please keep the coverage coming, it’s appreciated!
  • 3 0
  • 5 0
 Online coverage is getting better. Drones, E-bikes and helicopters along with good commentary make it enjoyable to watch.
  • 1 0
 Woo, go Haley!
  • 2 5
 sorry, but there is a downhill WC over here and it takes up all my attention - capacity.

Copyright © 2000 - 2024. Pinkbike.com. All rights reserved.
dv56 0.050019
Mobile Version of Website