The Complete Race Schedule for the 2020 MTB World Championships

Oct 5, 2020
by Ed Spratt  
Loic Bruni on pace and into 2nd


The 2020 season has been like no other. With the XC World Cup already finished after two rounds in one week and with the DH season yet to start, it is going to be a very unpredictable week of racing in Leogang. To keep up to date with all the races, check out the full schedule of race and qualifying times for the biggest racing event of the year.


Find out how you can watch all the action from Leogang here.



Wednesday October 7:

Downhill guy Wyn Masters.


XC Team Relay World Championships:


PST 03:30 / EST 06:30 / BST 11:30 / CEST 12:30



Men's e-MTB World Championships:


PST 05:30 / EST 08:30 / BST 13:30 / CEST 14:30



Women's e-MTB World Championships:


PST 07:15 / EST 10:15 / BST 15:15 / CEST 16:15



Thursday October 8:

Junior XC women s start.


Junior Women XC World Championships:


PST 04:30 / EST 07:30 / BST 12:30 / CEST 13:30



Junior Men XC World Championships:


PST 06:30 / EST 09:30 / BST 14:30 / CEST 15:30



Friday October 9:

Greg Minnaar had a strong race today to finish just over 2 seconds out of the medals.


Junior Downhill Qualification:


PST 01:30 / EST 04:30 / BST 9:30 / CEST 10:30



Elite Downhill Qualification:


PST 02:45 / EST 05:45 / BST 10:45 / CEST 11:45



Under 23 Men XC World Championships:


PST 06:00 / EST 09:00 / BST 14:00 / CEST 15:00



Saturday, October 10:



Under 23 Women XC World Championships:


PST 01:00 / EST 04:00 / BST 9:00 / CEST 10:00



Elite Women XC World Championships:


PST 03:15 / EST 06:15 / BST 11:15 / CEST 12:15



Elite Men XC World Championships:


PST 05:45 / EST 08:45 / BST 13:45 / CEST 14:45



Sunday, October 11:

Myriam Nicole was disqualified during her run for going through the tape but since she is a protected rider she will start the final.


Junior Women and Men Downhill World Championships:


PST 00:25 / EST 03:25 / BST 8:25 / CEST 9:25



Elite Women Downhill World Championships:


PST 03:50 / EST 06:50 / BST 11:50 / CEST 12:50



Elite Men Downhill World Championships:


PST 05:10 / EST 08:10 / BST 13:10 / CEST 14:10





67 Comments

  • 91 2
 So we have E-MTB world champions crowned but we can’t even get dual slalom or 4x for a comeback...
  • 41 1
 Probably not as much money to be made in sales of those bikes.
  • 3 0
 @jojotherider1977: the only reason for sure
  • 2 0
 @jojotherider1977: Because barely anyone makes the bikes Frown
  • 11 2
 @jojotherider1977: How come there is no Enduro (1 day, or 48 hour) event? That is the one that sells the most bikes and it would be great to watch.
  • 5 0
 @Gerlewis: how exactly would you broadcast that?
  • 3 0
 @TomasK: capitalism can find a way.

I am no expert but I would use Elements of xc course and dh course, plus add in another stage unique to the enduro event.

Cameras like xc course plus go pro and drones.
  • 2 0
 @Gerlewis: UCI is partnered with the EWS. Chris Ball was one of the senior guys at UCI before he left to start the EWS. There was an understanding that if successful the UCI would support an EWS championship event and allow the use of the rainbow stripes. I would expect them to be pulled under the umbrella at some point in the next few years.
  • 2 0
 @jojotherider1977:
Sad but true
  • 10 4
 The most exciting race of the YEAR! IF not the century!!!
  • 11 2
 omergawd I can't wait to see someone else win while sitting down the whole time! What athleticism. What grace.
  • 4 1
 How proud would you be?
  • 21 1
 Fortunately all contestants finished un-hurt and were back on their yachts for cocktails and canapes by sun down.
  • 7 1
 Totally forgot about that shameful event... wow that was bad. They dont want to be compare to motor bike but they race on a dirt bike course haha classic.
  • 29 1
 They should put some hikers behind blind turns on the climb to simulate real E-mtb riding.
  • 9 1
 @mobiller:
Add in a dozen of the XC pros riding on course but in the opposite direction, scaring the fack out of everyone involved and all parties coming to a standstill while arguing over who has the right of way.
  • 3 2
 Jesus what a travesty
  • 6 3
 That being said it *could* be amazing if done right (ie very definitely not like that shit) - imagine a race on like a super hard XC course where the downs were EWS level and the ups super steep jank that would be near impossible to clean on a WC XC bike...
  • 8 3
 have you seen the course ? It mixes parts from the XC race course and parts of the DH course .
Basically climb on the xc course and descend the DH course .
It’s going to take someone with serious fitness and handling skills to win. Basically an EWS racer .
The bikes assist is limited to 15mph so the winner will have to be pedalling over that 15mph limit to overtake , pedalling a 50lb bike over 15mph uphill and across undulating tracks takes serious fitness and there’s no assist on the DH of course .
  • 1 1
 @Nsnk: Should suit nico vouilloz then?
  • 4 1
 @alexhyland: I've said this before and I truely believe E-bike racing needs to be like a Red Bull Romaniacs or a Iron Mountain type of event. 2 cents
  • 2 0
 @Dropthedebt: Have you even rode an E-bike? Yes are good fun, but no way could ride anything like Red Bull Romaniacs, on any type of E-bicycle?
  • 2 1
 @aljoburr: I said "type of event", a discipline to be developed, not direct copy. Yes, I have ridden an e-bike. Yes, I know the capability & the penalties. What is E-bike racing now? Just XC with a battery. 2 cents
  • 6 0
 I'd click the link but I'd rather not have AI remember my choice
  • 3 0
 @Nsnk: but why the assist at all then?
  • 3 0
 I would keep my fullface on after the race ...
  • 1 0
 This is hilarious. Thanks for sharing. I had no idea!
  • 2 0
 @Dropthedebt: It is more like F1 for Grannies, with 15 mph limit?
  • 23 1
 funny is that as a winner of DH, you'll get same money as E-mtb winner....UCI is pretty fucked up
  • 27 2
 yeah ridiculous! the DH rider did not even pedal Big Grin
  • 1 0
 Wonder how long before E-dh will be the only DH racing enjoy while can?
  • 5 0
 It's not UCI's fault. Cycling is a sponsor-driven industrialized sport in all aspects.
  • 1 0
 .....and XC athletes....double money...oh yeah. That's the reason why I said "f*cked up" .
Look at IAAF (athletic federation) and their prize money during events. www.watchathletics.com/flash-news/thread.php?id=489 Gold, silver, bronze......same money, no matter discipline
  • 4 0
 I hope someone broadcasts the Team Relay. That always makes for some good watching. If I find a source I'll post it.
Here's the 2018 Team relay from Lenzerheide. www.youtube.com/watch?v=lUlQYZJ6WYw

This year there will be 6 riders per team as they are including the U23 Ladies.
  • 2 0
 Make that the Junior Ladies, not the U23. U23 was already part of the previous 5 rider format...
  • 5 1
 My Moneys on Minnaar to sneak in a Gold and make a whole bunch of Frenchies unhappy! Minnaar is the Goat!
  • 2 0
 yes please!!!!
  • 4 0
 First thing I see is Loic on a classic Assegai/DHR2 combo.
  • 3 1
 And 25mm width rims... Just proves you don't need 30mm+ width rims to ride a bike.
  • 5 2
 Love it how they get the lame sh*t over with on the first day.
  • 3 1
 PLEASE LET THIS HAPPEN!!!!
  • 2 0
 Any chance of adding GMT to those times??
  • 9 0
 BST is British Summer Time.
  • 1 0
 @Prof: aha! Even better!!
  • 2 0
 NBC better friggin pony up!
  • 1 0
 Not gonna show it live I don't think, I found it on Olympic Channel. Mens DH at 4pm MST
  • 2 0
 Cancel cable and stea it with the rest of US
  • 2 0
 I guess this is where my jailbroken firestick will finally come in handy.
  • 2 0
 Will there be any non-Europeans racing?
  • 1 0
 Aaron Gwin will be there too. Dont worry Big Grin
  • 1 0
 I was getting hyped for a Holl/Atherton battle, but I've just heard that Rachel has pulled out. Gutted.
  • 1 0
 I am waiting on the retirement announcement she always said she was glad she wouldn't have to race Holl. Even more gutted.
  • 1 0
 The weather forecast on Sunday says 20cm of Snow on the mountain. Interesting conditions
  • 2 0
 Vali for woman.loic or perrion mens
  • 2 0
 (amaury) pierron is injured
  • 1 0
 Then it's a loris vergier bruni battle but Greg could do his usual shock everyone
  • 1 0
 I'd like to see Greg sneak another champs medal but you'd think Loic or Loris have a good shout.
  • 1 0
 Serious question: What if the forecast holds true and there will be 20cm of snow on sunday?
  • 1 0
 What about XC short track?
  • 2 0
 XCC is only used in the World Cup.
  • 1 0
 Is this going to be streamed live?
  • 1 0
 Yes, on Red Bull TV
  • 2 0
 USA is racing!
  • 1 0
 Best VPN to watch Red Bull broadcast in Canada? Free or paid.
  • 1 0
 NBC Gold for cycling. $54.99. Yikes!

Post a Comment



Copyright © 2000 - 2020. Pinkbike.com. All rights reserved.
dv65 0.015137
Mobile Version of Website