Irish MTB 2020 Season Preview

Feb 8, 2020 at 15:34
by Yaroslav Alpizar  
Kelan tucked on the open fast mid section of SS4

February, still cold, rainy and windy. Actually, at the moment of writing storm Ciara is swiping the island and an orange wind alert for all the country has been issued due to very strong winds with gusts up to 130km/h. But that's just the normal Irish winter and with that, the 2020 mountain bike season is about to start with the first race of the Biking Blitz series taking place today in Ballinastoe, Wicklow region.

The Biking Blitz series is celebrating its 10 year anniversary. This is the race "de facto" for anyone willing to get its foot into mountain bike racing. Aimed at novice riders and weekend warriors, is the perfect opportunity to test yourself at race pace. But it also offers the opportunity for the more hardcore riders to test themselves, usually doing double the distance as per their category. With two categories in the starting line, "Super Pro" for experienced riders and "Baggy Shorts" for the beginners, good craic is guaranteed. This year with six venues in between February and April across the country, almost every Coillte trail center will act as the race venue. And that's precisely another of its good offers, the race route encompasses all the official trails, so novice riders don't need to deal with the muddy and more advanced features natural trails usually have. Two completely new venues, Coolaney and Slieve Bloom mountains will see the riders into their trails.

Biking Blitz 2020 venues

Round 1 9th February, Ballinastoe, Wicklow
Round 2 23rd February, Ballyhoura, Limerick
Round 3 8th March, Derroura, Galway
Round 4 22nd March, Ticknock, Dublin
Round 5 5th April, Coolaney, Sligo
Round 6 19th April, Slieve Blooms, Offaly/Laois
More info: Coillte BikingBlitz

Just 2 weeks before the last race of the Biking Blitz, the Vitus First Track Enduro Cup will be the enduro opener for 2020 with its first race in Castlewellan, a location that saw the very last race of the 2019 season. This year the established Ulster enduro cup will take place in 4 different venues, with Ravensdale acting as an EWS qualifier for next season. The 2nd race of the series in Bigwood will act also as the Ulster Enduro Championship. Rostrevor is back into the list after a hiatus last year, epic trails and all-natural terrain will be the perfect place to close the season.

Vitus First Track Enduro Cup 2020 venues

Round 1 4/5th April 2020 – Castlewellan
Round 2 9/10th May 2020 – Bigwood
Round 3 20/21st June 2020 – Ravensdale
Round 4 12/13th September 2020 – Rostrevor
More info: Vitus First Track Enduro Cup
Overall results 2019
Pro Men - Pro Women
1st. Kelan Grant 180pts - Meave Baxter 205pts
2nd. Glyn O'Brien 154pts - Hannah Mullin 175pts
3rd. James Mac Ferran 144pts - Hannah Harvey 155pts
Overall season winners

The Vitus Bikes Gravity Enduro Ireland Series will kick of in Djouce Woods in May. This year 4 races instead of 5 as past year, with one of them doubling as the 2020 Irish Enduro Championships, the one in Killaloe. The other 3 will be mainly based in Wicklow mountains, with Ballinastoe and Carrick as the other two venues. Kelan Grant, current Irish enduro champ, will certainly battle for the title once again. Greg Callaghan with his new team (Devinci) will for sure be the other man to look at, together with the young rider Harry Byrne hungry for titles.

All categories winner of the Vitus Gravity Enduro Series 2019 see you next year
Vitus Bikes Gravity Enduro 2020 venues

Round 1 Djouce, Wicklow - Sat 16 May to Sun 17 May 20
Round 2 Killaloe, Co Clare - Sat 6 Jun to Sun 7 Jun
Round 3 Ballinastoe, Co Wicklow - Sat 22 Aug to Sun 23 Aug 20
Round 4 Carrick, Wicklow - Sat 5 Sep to Sun 6 Sep 20
More info: Vitus Bikes Gravity Enduro
Overall results 2019
Pro Men - Pro Women
1st. Harry Byrne 770pts - Leah Maunsell 1000pts
2nd. Greg Callaghan 750pts - Hannah Mullin 710pts
3rd. Ian Coates 480pts - Meave Baxter 620pts

For 2020 the Irish Downhill Mountain Bikes Series will take place in 5 different locations, one of them, the last, still to be announced. The National Championships will take place in Carrick, on round 4 of the series.

iDMS 2020 venues

Round 1 April 18/19 – Bree
Round 2 May 23/24 – Killarney
Round 3 June 27/28 – The GAP
Round 4 July 18/19 – Carrick (National Championships)
Round 5 August 15/16 – new venue to be announced
More info: iDMS venues
Overall results 2019
1st. James MacFerran
2nd. Rob Davies
3rd. Ronan Gahan
The steep chute step down kicker sender ski jump launch pad big sky rocket call it as you like it was mad. I would say Ronan Dunne won the unnoficial irish long jump contest


  • 2 0
 Absolutely mad weather in ballinastoe today - sun, wind and that torrential horizontal rain... The poor nippers had their race cancelled which is lucky cause the poor little buggers would have been blown away!!
  • 1 0
 thanks for drop by! indeed it was madness, but at the end it was just really windy on the top, no rain til the podiums, cold and wet, well, is Ireland Wink
  • 1 0
 How about giving the Grassroots Enduro series a mention? Another great race series that has a great following.
  • 1 0
 ouch! sorry, you are right, totally missed that one Frown can't edit the article once it's published
  • 2 0
 Sweet write up!
  • 1 0

Post a Comment

You must login to Pinkbike.
Don't have an account? Sign up

Join Pinkbike  Login
Copyright © 2000 - 2020. All rights reserved.
dv56 0.009669
Mobile Version of Website