Live Broadcast Schedule - Crankworx Whistler 2019

Aug 12, 2019 at 22:20
by Official Crankworx  

Mountain bike fans will now have access to live Crankworx content in more places than ever before. The 16th edition of Crankworx Whistler will see 10.5 hours of live action broadcast on Pinkbike and crankworx.com, with an unprecedented 8.5 hours of events on Red Bull TV over the 10 days of the festival. In 2019, Pump Track and Dual Slalom will be broadcast on Red Bull TV for the first time, joining Speed & Style and Slopestyle.

Mountain bike fans – mark your calendars and set your alarms. These are the events you’re not going to want to miss as the ultimate experience in mountain biking blasts from Whistler through August 18, 2019.

Dual Slalom action from the Crankworx World Tour makes its way home to Whistler. Mitch Ropelato in Austria in June. Photo by Fraser Britton

Wednesday, August 14
100% Dual Slalom Whistler

Where to watch:
Live on Red Bull TV, Pinkbike and crankworx.com

When:
Wednesday August 14th 5:00 p.m. PDT
Thursday August 15th 12:00 p.m. NZST
Thursday August 15th 2:00 a.m. CEST

Details:
Head-to-head racing at its most raw, the 100% Dual Slalom Whistler will wrap the first-ever Crankworx Dual Slalom World Championships. Racers will tackle a new, purpose-built course on Blackcomb Mountain. Described by course builders as “classic Dual Slalom,” this longer course features rollers, flat grass turns, step downs, gaps, and finishes on a straight set of rollers with an option to triple.

Credit Fraser Britton Crankworx 2018
The pump track in Whistler always promises small margins and big drama. Photo by Fraser Britton

Thursday, August 15
RockShox Ultimate Pump Track Challenge

Where to watch:
Live on Red Bull TV, Pinkbike and crankworx.com

When:
Thursday August 15 8:00 p.m. PDT
Friday August 16 3:00 p.m. NZST
Friday August 16 5:00 a.m. CEST

Details:
The explosive power of the Crankworx Pump Track will be blast from the Boneyard at the base of the Whistler Mountain Bike Park to the world in this final showdown of the Crankworx Pump Track World Championships for 2019. As the sun sets on Whistler, head-to-head racing will light up the night. A new track will take advantage of a bigger footprint available at the base of the bike park. In this new spot, the build crew focused on making the left and right tracks as even as possible, guaranteeing nail-biting racing and drama right up to the finish line.

Will Söderström be able to keep it up and claim the Crankworx Speed & Style World Championship? Photo by Fraser Britton

Friday, August 16
CLIF Speed & Style

Where to watch:
Live on Red Bull TV, Pinkbike and crankworx.com

When:
Friday August 16th 6:00 p.m. PDT
Saturday August 17th 1:00 p.m. NZST
Saturday August 17th 3:00 a.m. CEST

Details:
An all-new venue will welcome multi-talented riders with both pedal power and a variety of awe-inspiring tricks in their roster. Tune in to watch riders race head-to-head and send it (with style) on two judged hits on this purpose-built course on Blackcomb Mountain. Taking the discipline to the next level, course builders have built custom Speed & Style ramps, adapted to fit the discipline based on athlete feedback.

The one and only, Red Bull Joyride. Erik Fedko sending it in 2018. Photo by Fraser Britton

Saturday, August 17
Red Bull Joyride

Where to watch:
Live on Red Bull TV, Pinkbike and crankworx.com

When:
Saturday August 17th 4:30 p.m. PDT
Sunday August 18th 11:30 a.m. NZST
Sunday August 18th 1:30 a.m. CEST

Details:
The final contest of the Crankworx FMBA Slopestyle World Championship season, Red Bull Joyride brings together 14 of the world’s top riders for a showdown of amplitude, originality, difficulty, execution, and flow. It all has to come together on this course known as the biggest on the circuit, and in this event that’s one of the most-watched competitions in the mountain bike world.

Troy Brosnan, master of the Whistler Mountain BIke Park's technical twists and turns. Photo by Kike Abelleira

Sunday, August 18
Canadian Open DH presented by iXS

Where to watch:
Live on Pinkbike and crankworx.com

When:
Sunday August 18th 2:00 p.m. PDT
Monday August 19th 9:00 a.m. NZST
Sunday August 18th 11:00 p.m. CEST

Details:
A deep field of some of the world’s facest downhill racers will flock to Whistler to take on this infamous course. The Canadian Open DH presented by iXS is a one run take-down of Whistler’s rooty single-track, and a chance for fans to see some of the best in the business face off.

To take your Crankworx experience to the next level, stay tuned to the Crankworx World Tour on Facebook, YouTube, Instagram and Twitter. At your fingertips: exclusive athlete content, broadcast promotions and partner videos to be shared throughout the festival. Fans can expect to see clips of top runs, GoPro course previews, bike checks, athlete and local riding features plus timely highlight pieces.

Plus, take your experience to the next level with the Crankworx Fantasy contest. This season has already seen two winners, but there’s one more chance for mountain bike fans to win the ultimate Crankworx prize. Head to Pinkbike to sign up and potentially win huge prizes including the ultimate, a VIP trip for two to any Crankworx in 2020, RockShox Lyrik Ultimate and Maxxis prize pack. So who’s going to be on your winning team?

Choose your ultimate team of six riders to go to battle during each Crankworx Whistler live broadcast: 100% Dual Slalom Whistler, Rockshox Ultimate Pump Track Challenge, CLIF Speed & Style, Canadian Open DH presented by iXS, and Red Bull Joyride. Before each of the five broadcasts, select your team of athletes to collect the most points possible.

It’s all about to come together for the ultimate viewing experience of the ultimate experience in mountain biking.


18 Comments

  • + 12
 Thanks for posting the NZ times!!
Much easier to plan some MTB TV time around meetings and sh!t weather Wink
  • + 4
 We like New Zealanders' g>
  • + 5
 Haven't we already missed some events?
Better late than never I guess?
  • + 3
 There haven't been any live broadcast events yet. The full list of events (broadcast and otherwise) can be found in the Pinkbike Primer.
  • + 2
 @sarahmoore: why no Air DH stream this year? I just watched 2018 to cope for my loss
  • + 1
 @sarahmoore I know this is kinda beyond you but the raw motion and live updates on the crankworx site isn’t giving out the brackets for dual slalom, any chance you might have them? It’s harder to win the Fantasy League for people that aren’t actually at crankworx if they don’t have the brackets. Thanks alot! I’ll pay as much attention as possible to the crankworx feeds.
  • + 2
 Ok, it started but Jill is racing apparently because she has times but is not on the start list... No idea what to do
  • + 1
 @JaToledo: You can follow along here: www.crankworx.com/start-list-results That's where the updated Start List will be first.
  • + 1
 Hill and Rude need to race the DH please.
  • + 1
 I appreciate all the free coverage, but is there any chance we can go against Crankworx tradition and have some cameras positioned in some interesting sections for the DH race?
  • + 3
 Start list?
  • + 1
 They posted it a while ago. Just do a search for it
  • + 2
 Awesome - can never get enough MTB coverage !
  • - 1
 You’re gonna film these but didn’t film the Air Dh? I’m pretty sure about -3 people care about speed and style. Whoever made that decision should be fired
  • + 2
 I definitely care about the speed and style...
  • + 0
 Cool your shit. Have you seen coverage from it the previous years? It sucks because they can't get cameras into any of the interesting spots on the course. So you get a shot of riders leaving the gate, at the first road crossing and the finish. Yay.

If your so hot an bothered go drag some cable through the woods next year.
  • + 2
 @Deep-Friar: The least they could have done is broadcast the last jump, which was being filmed. If you were there, you would know that the conditions were the best in years and that more DH racers were there than in past years. If you paid the $80 to race, you would want more than just a few laps of a trail that’s ridden for free (assuming you have a pass) for your contribution.
  • + 1
 Ok.

Post a Comment



You must login to Pinkbike.
Don't have an account? Sign up

Join Pinkbike  Login
Copyright © 2000 - 2019. Pinkbike.com. All rights reserved.
dv65 0.018827
Mobile Version of Website