Need some Insight. NEW to DH sport. Yeti 303WC, DEMO8, or Trek 9.9...Ready....go!

PB Forum :: Downhill
Need some Insight. NEW to DH sport. Yeti 303WC, DEMO8, or Trek 9.9...Ready....go!
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Nov 5, 2014 at 8:47 Quote
Hello everyone,
my names matt, I am from phoenix Arizona. I am new to the DH scene, I had a yeti 303rdh back in 2012, and a DA bomb before that. I currently stunt ride motorcycles. But iam looking to do transfer over to DH scene. I wanted some insight on a few bikes i am looking at. DEMO 8. YETI 303WC. or that trek 9.9. i am 6'1 so i need a XL frame. What can you guys tell me?!

Posted: Nov 7, 2014 at 11:06 Quote
go with an evil undead

Posted: Nov 7, 2014 at 15:20 Quote
Wheelieking92 wrote:
Hello everyone,
my names matt, I am from phoenix Arizona. I am new to the DH scene, I had a yeti 303rdh back in 2012, and a DA bomb before that. I currently stunt ride motorcycles. But iam looking to do transfer over to DH scene. I wanted some insight on a few bikes i am looking at. DEMO 8. YETI 303WC. or that trek 9.9. i am 6'1 so i need a XL frame. What can you guys tell me?!

I can't help a ton as I am relatively new myself. But I would say stick to a large frame, I am 6'3 and rode a L demo8 and it fit perfect. Demo 8 is the only DH bike I have ridden but from the time I spent on it I enjoyed myself although it took some getting used to how low the bottom bracket is. Had to be careful if I tried to pedal in rocky sections or stuff like that.

Posted: Nov 7, 2014 at 16:14 Quote
There are so many really good bikes now.
Out of the 3 you mentioned, I`ll 100% go with the 303 WC. I kinda agree with the Evil Undead too.
Look at the bikes` geometry first, and compare it to what you`ve been used to ride.
I`m 6'2", and I usually ride a Large. However I tried my friend`s Medium GT Fury 2013, and it was larger than the L`s I`ve ridden before. So make sure to take a look at the Reach, Top Tube Length etc.. first.
Good Luck