building a pump track

PB Forum :: Trail Building
building a pump track
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: May 5, 2015 at 23:37 Quote
So i'm new to freeriding and where i live its as flat as a pooltable. To get some excercise i 'd like to build a pump track. I've got a big enough terrain to do so with even room for dirt jumps etc BUT I have no idea how you should design such a thing! How the f am I supposed to know how far the jumps should be apart? I'd ride it with my freeride bike so I'm guessing its different for a bmx or dirt bike...

Posted: May 6, 2015 at 9:52 Quote
Get a shovel, and a clinometer also being good at maths helps

Posted: May 6, 2015 at 10:28 Quote
I suck at math and need to look up what a clinometer is right after i struggle through the terminology of berms, rollers and what not..
All that shit..

Posted: May 6, 2015 at 12:18 Quote
The math side just let's you get it right to the wire berms should be at 45° from the ground in the apex of the corner (middle point) Rollers are just like we bumps you roll over a table top is a jump with out the gap in the middle top of it looks like a table ironically and a tranny can be either a gap jump or someone who dresses like the opposite sex. When I build if I am looking for a lengthy jump ill set a take off angle to about 20°- 30° if it's more hight your after also known as amplitude I would set the take off angle between 40° and 60°. That's where a clinometer comes in handy as this will allow you to measure that angle. Also starting off small is the best way to avoid unnecessary injuries. Good luck

Posted: May 7, 2015 at 0:47 Quote
Thx, i'm already looking to borrow a little digger and i'd need some extra dirt to prevent pooling..belgium is a very rainy country so i'm better of adding dirt than digging for it..

O+
Posted: May 8, 2015 at 16:00 Quote