Need help :What type of bike would be best for me

PB Forum :: Beginners
Need help :What type of bike would be best for me
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: May 13, 2015 at 17:32 Quote
hello all i have ridden bmx for many years and now i am looking to switch ways and get into mountain biking. i am looking for something that i could take on casual rides up and down my local hiking areas with my girlfriend to something that could be thrown around very easily into corners at speed and withstand some drops (10ft or so ) and jumps when i go out by myself or with friends . i am a complete noob i guess you could say when it comes to components and suspension on mountain bikes so any advice would be greatly appreciated. i have done some research and still cant figure out what bike would be best freeride, xc or trail or maybe there is something else out there that you guys would know about that would fit my needs.

thank you

Posted: May 20, 2015 at 5:45 Quote
boreddome wrote:
hello all i have ridden bmx for many years and now i am looking to switch ways and get into mountain biking. i am looking for something that i could take on casual rides up and down my local hiking areas with my girlfriend to something that could be thrown around very easily into corners at speed and withstand some drops (10ft or so ) and jumps when i go out by myself or with friends . i am a complete noob i guess you could say when it comes to components and suspension on mountain bikes so any advice would be greatly appreciated. i have done some research and still cant figure out what bike would be best freeride, xc or trail or maybe there is something else out there that you guys would know about that would fit my needs.

thank you

Are you looking to buy new or used? And also importantly, what level of budget are you looking for? You can do most things on most bikes but there are always drawbacks:
- I wouldn't advise trying to pedal singletrack on a DH rig!