Buying guide for used full suspension bikes

PB Forum :: Beginners
Buying guide for used full suspension bikes
  • Previous Page
Posted: Jul 10, 2008 at 20:03 Quote
Hey all,

I'm considering buying a used full suspension bike. Can anyone give me some tips or suggestions of things to look for and avoid? I'm still pretty new to this, so I don't know if I would recognize the signs of bad deal.

Thanks in advance.

edit: Mostly ride XC

Posted: Jul 10, 2008 at 20:48 Quote
where do you live because I have a dual suspension for sale

Posted: Jul 11, 2008 at 9:22 Quote
Vancouver... what kind of bike is it?

Posted: Jul 11, 2008 at 9:50 Quote
it's a Norco Fluid
which is a xc/all mountain bike

Mod
Posted: Jul 12, 2008 at 20:05 Quote
Don't buy it if the deal looks to good to be true.
Take it for a test ride? Any weird creaking or anything or any thing that doesn't seem to work?
Check the frame thouroughly for cracks on the welds.
Buy from someone you know if possible or off a local shop.
Take someone along who knows lots about the mechanics of bikes to help you check it over or see if you can get an LBS to check it over before you buy.
Is it the right size? Don't buy if it isn't even if it is a good deal.
How old is it and how much has it been used?
How much are you willing to spend and what do you expect for the money?
Are you going to need to change any parts to meet your physical stature or your riding style such as shock springs or a chainguide or pedals etc.?

Lots of stuff to consider when your buying... Best way to do it is find a nice friend that knows a bit about bikes (eg local shop mechanic) and get him/her to help you choose a bike that would be good for your riding style, size, and budget.

Posted: Jul 17, 2008 at 8:08 Quote
http://www.downhillforcheap.com/downhillbikes

thats the source of this, read this