Pinkbike will be undergoing scheduled maintenance on May 29 at 9pm PST for up to 6 hours. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during this time.
Powered by Outside

How many bikes?

• Previous Page
Posted: Jul 24, 2021 at 5:25 Quote
I am new to the scene, preordered a base 2022 Honzo for expected Dec delivery. In the meantime, I got a 2021 stumpjumper base, used. Do most of you keep a hard tail and dual susp bike? I feel like bikes are in such short supply these days that I should give it up for someone else. I don’t know anyone who would want it and I will not scalp. I am 55, trail riding in Ontario, not aggressive at all, riding 2-3x/wk. Absolutely love the stumpy.

[edit] I have come across Rule 12 lol: The correct number of bikes to own is n+1.While the minimum number of bikes one should own is three, the correct number is n+1, where n is the number of bikes currently owned. This equation may also be re-written as s-1, where s is the number of bikes owned that would result in separation from your partner.

Posted: Jul 24, 2021 at 5:59 Quote
I read those rules and that one made me LMFAO....i had a 2010 hard rock specialized that i was going to keep when I bought my marin rift zone 2 27.5. After riding the Marin, I sold my hartail as it was just gonna sit...

Posted: Jul 24, 2021 at 6:30 Quote
OMG my wife still has a hard rock from that era, it was a hand-me-up from our daughter who now rides a process 134

Posted: Jul 24, 2021 at 8:41 Quote
I have 2 bikes, my Enduro bike and my commuter hardtail. I had a dj for pump tracks but rarely used it so I sold it. If you use the bikes then they are worth having or if you have the money and space to keep them. 2 bikes is enough for me, all I have time for.

Posted: Jul 24, 2021 at 11:55 Quote
Fear is the mind killer. Fewer bikes is fear. N+1 is the way.

Posted: Jul 24, 2021 at 12:35 Quote