Powered by Outside

When should a builder just Stop building?

PB Forum :: Trail Building
When should a builder just Stop building?
  • Previous Page
Posted: Jul 16, 2008 at 8:55 Quote
Ive been building at a spot for about 5 years or so and Id say that 90% of whats out there was built by me, usually alone. Now within the last 2 years the place has blown up and become the main local ride spot (unfortunately some of the stupidest kids alive). Theres probably 30 or 40 kids that hit up the trails on a regular basis and maybe only 2 or 3 who help dig occasionally. My point is that Im sick and tired of creating, building and maintaining trails for people who have no respect for what I do. Dont get me wrong I didnt start building for respect, I did it out of necessity and because I loved it. I just cant work my balls off building something only to have it destroyed by stupidity. Its like they all believe in the dirt jump fairy, they blow the shit out on Monday and its magically fixed on Tuesday so they can blow it out again. They take no resposibility for the trails, theres garbage everywhere, Ive tried to lay down some ground rules but its useless. Ive tried putting down the shovel in the past when I get frustrated but I always pick it up again because I love to build. Is there a way to get through to these kids (without violence) or should I just walk away and let the place go to hell. How do you not get emotionally attached as a builder to a ride spot, I take it personally every time the place gets jacked.

Posted: Jul 16, 2008 at 9:02 Quote
Maybe leave the trail for a month or so, and when these kids come back and it has been ruined because they have wrecked it, they probaly wont come back, then go back and repair. Or it might teach the kids more respect for other people so in the future they might not wreck it or maybe even give you a hand on maintaining them.

Posted: Jul 16, 2008 at 9:09 Quote