Powered by Outside

new to bmx, wrists=dead

PB Forum :: BMX (20")
new to bmx, wrists=dead
  • Previous Page
Posted: Aug 21, 2008 at 15:19 Quote
hey, so im new to bmx, like ive only been riding for 2 days. the other day we had a huge like 7-8 hour ride, and at the end my wrists were hurting so much it wasnt even funny, and today, the one still hurts ALOT.i was mostly doing stuff on banks, like 180s, disaters, alleyoops, and 180 flyputs, but i was also learning/doing wallrides. i was just wondering if this is normal, especially switching from mountain bike with front suspension. how long will it last before i get used to it? and is there anything i can do in the meantime, such as exercises for my wrists, or do i just tough it out and eventually it gets better?any help is appreceiated, thanks guysSalute

Posted: Aug 21, 2008 at 15:22 Quote
It's normal. Means you're currently a hucker. Just work on being smooth.

Posted: Aug 21, 2008 at 15:23 Quote
land on your back wheel and use you legs to cushin the landing for your armsWink

Posted: Aug 21, 2008 at 15:24 Quote
autfloot wrote:
land on your back wheel and use you legs to cushin the landing for your armsWink

I find that whips the front tire down. Both wheels at the same time. Cush.

Posted: Aug 21, 2008 at 15:25 Quote
sherbet wrote:
what do you mean im a hucker? and i was trying to be as smooth as possible, but ill keep that in mind!

sherbet wrote:
autfloot wrote:

yea, ive heard if you land on your front tire, it slams your front down, causing more strain on the wrists, so i was always trying to land both tires at once

jim-kaplan wrote:
sherbet wrote:
what do you mean im a hucker? and i was trying to be as smooth as possible, but ill keep that in mind!

Just means you're use to suspension saving you. Gotta be able to move those arms and legs as suspension.

Posted: Aug 21, 2008 at 15:26 Quote
yea u just gotta go from being a balls to the wall hucker to a smooth bmx rider

Posted: Aug 21, 2008 at 15:29 Quote