Powered by Outside

Cheapest insurance company for 1st time drivers?

PB Forum :: United Kingdom
Cheapest insurance company for 1st time drivers?
  • Previous Page
Posted: Dec 13, 2008 at 13:45 Quote
Whats the cheapest insurance company out there for 1st time drivers?

Im pritty good at driving and want to take my test soon, but i quite like the old vw caddys, and mk1 golfs.

All the quotes i have seen have been rediculous!
I know it will cost alot, as im a first time driver, but over 2k is just a joke.

So do you recomend anyone?
Cheers

Posted: Dec 13, 2008 at 14:48 Quote
oh the joy! i remember passing my test and having insurance quotes in excess of £2500 for 1 litre hatchbacks.
basically i couldnt buy my own car til i was 21 then i qualified for classic insurance and i bought a ford capri which i insured for about £400. if you like old caddys you're better looking at dedicated classic insurance which is a fraction of the cost of normal but different companies have different age restrictions.
basically though, there is nothing you can do to avoid being completley reemed by insurance companies until you're over 25. we all go through it so just suck it up and be patient.

Posted: Dec 13, 2008 at 14:57 Quote
Tesco's insurance is cheap

Posted: Dec 14, 2008 at 13:03 Quote
I insured my old VW Polo Fox (classy, lol) for £800 a year with Quinn direct,
and Im 17 and havnt even taken pass plus yet (which will drive insurance costs down a bit more)

Posted: Dec 14, 2008 at 13:09 Quote
mistercrabb wrote:
and Im 17 and havnt even taken pass plus yet (which will drive insurance costs down a bit more)

God, thats pritty good.

Did you phone them up, or was that a online quote?

Posted: Dec 14, 2008 at 13:18 Quote
try places like gocompare etc mate they work really well, i can insure a vw lupo 1.4 16v for just over 1700

Posted: Dec 14, 2008 at 13:21 Quote
djbiker01 wrote:
mistercrabb wrote:

God, thats pritty good.

Is that a provisional --£800 or when you passed.