PB Forum :: Downhill
Im 13 , need a fs dh bike under 1500 used what do i get
Posted: Dec 18, 2008 at 19:23 Quote
ocrap wrote:
snook wrote:
ocrap wrote:

^^ bulls#!t

No, very true.
I ride DH on a hardtail and beat my mates on Full Sus just because I out pedal them because of the weight difference.
mate the only reason i said that is because he may have been riding for years
and just because he is 13 it doesn't mean he can't handle a fs,

i would go for something abit more freeridey than a pure dh rig, something like a quake or a norco six or a kona stinky

im 13. i do full on dh racing and am doin quite well, and ive been on a FS since i was like 9-10.but ive been riding bikes since i was 2 years old though.

Posted: Dec 18, 2008 at 19:38 Quote
here in ontario we have a dh cotagory called minime for like 12 and 13 year olds.. lots a young talent. great to see dh riders starting early.. i would recomend something like an extra small kona stinky. u can find em cheap and their a good starter bike with mid range components that are cheap to replace or work on.. i would also recoment an older used norco 4 by 4 if u can find like an 02 or 03 their fairly cheap and prefect for bigginers. even a giant warp ds can be turned into a started dh bike or a big hit grom. any of these bikes are in your price range and whould be fairly decent frames that u can build off as time goes by... then in the future once u have some nicer parts u get the nicer frames..since your just starting go with something simple and less costly. u dont wana have an expensive bike for your first dh bike cause trust me their will be times the bikes gona get crashed haha.

if your wondering my first dh bike was a small norco aline 2005 with monster ts... heavy as shit. cheap as shit. fun as hell. now ive learn t to ride a little better and treated my self to an orange patriot 7+. hopefully my input helps u out
cya buddy good luck.

Posted: Dec 18, 2008 at 19:40 Quote
thebearb17 wrote: